Feb 22, 2014; Lawrence, KS, USA; Kansas Jayhawks center Joel Embiid (21) and guard Andrew Wiggins (22) speak with media after the game against the Texas Longhorns at Allen Fieldhouse. Kansas won 85-54. Mandatory Credit: Denny Medley-USA TODAY Sports

National Player of the Year finalists announced

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected 15 players as finalists for its Oscar Robertson National Player of the Year Trophy.

Members of the association’s board of directors chose the finalists and the entire 975-member USBWA will vote on the award winner.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy recipient will be announced on April 4, at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, at a press conference in conjunction with the NCAA Men’s Final Four.

The 15 finalists for the Player of the Year award include:

Guard/Forward Kyle Anderson, UCLA

Forward Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico

Forward Cleanthony Early, Wichita State

Forward Melvin Ejim, Iowa State

Guard Tyler Ennis, Syracuse

Forward C.J. Fair, Syracuse

Guard Nick Johnson, Arizona

Guard Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati

Forward Doug McDermott, Creighton

Guard Shabazz Napier, Connecticut

Forward Jabari Parker, Duke

Forward Casey Prather, Florida

Forward Julius Randle, Kentucky

Guard Russ Smith, Louisville

Guard Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation’s oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

Tags: Arizona Wildcats Cincinnati Bearcats Connecticut Huskies Creighton Blue Jays Duke Blue Devils Florida Gators Iowa State Cyclones Kansas Jayahwks Kentucky Wildcats Louisville Cardinals New Mexico Lobos Syracuse Orange UCLA Bruins Wichita State Shockers