Nov 17, 2012; Louisville, KY, USA; Anthony Rotich of UTEP (661) outsprints Henry Lelei of Texas A&M (639) and Girma Mecheso of Oklahoma State (577) to place fourth in the mens race in 29:13 in the 2012 NCAA cross country championships at E.P. Sawyer Park. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee/Image of Sport-USA TODAY Sports

Anthony Rotich wins mile at NCAA Indoor Championships

Anthony Rotich of UTEP won the mile at the 2014 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships on Saturday evening, finishing a mere 0.27 seconds ahead of Arizona’s Lawi Lalang.

Oregon’s Mac Fleet took third, only 0.42 seconds behind the winner. Rotich recorded a time of 4:02.54, Lalang turned in a time of 4:02.81, and Fleet finished in 4:02.96. (The complete results from the race are below.)

To take nothing away from Rotich, the big story of the event was Lalang’s performance. The Arizona standout entered the weekend hoping to become the first runner to ever win the mile, the 3,000 meters, and the 5,000 meters at one NCAA championship meet. He finished second in the 5,000 meters on Friday, and it appears, with only the 3,000 meters remaining, that he may be leaving Albuquerque empty-handed.

As complied by Flash Results, here are all the times from Saturday’s race:

1) Anthony Rotich (UTEP) — 4:02.54

2) Lawi Lalang (Arizona) — 4:02.81

3) Mac Fleet (Oregon) — 4:02.96

4) Rich Peters (Boise State) — 4:03.49

5) Will Geoghegan (Dartmouth) — 4:04.17

6) John Gregorek (Columbia) — 4:04.68

7) Sam Penzenstadler (Loyola University Chicago) — 4:04.77

8) Jordan Williamsz (Villanova) — 4:04.79

9) Jeremy Rae (Notre Dame) — 4:05.07

10) Matt Hillenbrand (Kentucky) — 4:08.01

We’ll have more results for you as they come in, so stay tuned.


[Source: Flash Results]

Tags: 2014 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships