Mar 21, 2014; San Antonio, TX, USA; Creighton Bluejays forward Doug McDermott (3) signals in the second half of a men

Naismith Award 2014: Four finalists announced; Creighton's Doug McDermott favorite to win

Amid all of the madness that is the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament on Sunday, the four finalists for the 2014 Naismith Award were announced.

Creighton’s Doug McDermott, Arizona’s Nick Johnson, Duke’s Jabari Parker and Louisville’s Russ Smith will all be up for the coveted award as all four players have had outstanding seasons in leading their teams to berths in the 2014 tournament. At the moment, all but Parker still have their team vying for the national championship.

Out of the entire group, however, it’s been widely speculated for much of the 2014 calendar year that McDermott will be the overwhelming winner of the award when the final voting is cast, and rightfully so.

This season, McDermott has not only helped lead his team into March Madness, but he’s also continually cemented himself into the record book of college basketball by climbing up the all-time scoring charts. There may be a very good chance, with the one-and-done rule, that McDermott will be the last player we ever see score over 3,000 points.

The winner of the coveted award will be announced on April 6 during the weekend of the Final Four festivities in Arlington.

Tags: Doug McDermott Jabari Parker Naismith Award 2014 Nick Johnson Russ Smith

comments powered by Disqus