Apr 1, 2014; Dallas, TX, USA; Dallas Mavericks forward Dirk Nowitzki (41) reacts after the loss against the Golden State Warriors at American Airlines Center. Mandatory Credit: Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Dirk Nowitzki not satisfied by refs' explanation for no-call

There was a controversial play during the Golden State Warriors’ overtime loss to the Dallas Mavericks. With the game tied and about 13 seconds left in the game, Mavericks guard Monta Ellis put up a floater that Jermaine O’Neal blocked.

Dirk Nowitzki thought it should’ve been a goaltending call, and asked the officiating crew of Danny Crawford, Sean Corbin and Eric Dalen for an explanation.

“I think his layup has a chance to get to the rim, and if that’s the case, you can’t just get it out of the air,” Nowitzki said, via Tim MacMahon of ESPN Dallas. “To me, that’s a goaltend. I asked the referees what happened. The explanation was that the ball was two feet short. If that’s the case, then he can get it out of the air, but where I was from, I think it had a chance to at least hit the rim. That’s a goaltend to me.”

It looks like in reviews that it could’ve hit the rim. O’Neal says he blocked it before it began its descent.

Tags: Dirk Nowitzki

comments powered by Disqus