Mar 19, 2014; Toronto, Ontario, CAN; Tampa Bay Lightning goalie Ben Bishop (30) saves a shot during the game against the Toronto Maple Leafs at Air Canada Centre. Mandatory Credit: Tom Szczerbowski-USA TODAY Sports

Vezina Trophy Finalists announced

The NHL has announced its three finalists for the Vezina Trophy that goes to the league’s top goaltender. This year, the finalists are Tuukka Rask of the Boston Bruins, the Tampa Bay Lightning’s Ben Bishop and the Colorado Avalanche’s Semyon Varlamov.

Rask was the only goaltender to finish inside the top five of each of the major statistical categories for goaltenders in the NHL. He was first in shutouts with seven, second in save percentage with .930, fourth in goals-against average with 2.04 and fifth in wins. He also backstopped the Bruins to their first President’s Trophy since 1990.

Bishop earned his nomination in his first season as a full-time starter. He set multiple Lightning franchise records, and is the first Tampa Bay goaltender nominated for the award since Darren Puppa in 1996.

Varlamov led the NHL with 41 wins, and helped an Avalanche team surprise everyone in the league by winning the the Central Division. His 41 wins is a Avalanche franchise record for most by a goaltender in a season. The previous record was held by his head coach Patrick Roy.


Want to get the latest news wherever you may be? Download the official Fansided App on the AppStore or Google Play Market today to stay up-to-date on the latest news, rumors and analysis from Fansided without even being at a computer. You can also sign up for our newsletter below to get daily updates send straight to your e-mail. And don’t forget to connect with the author of this post on Twitter @TheMikeStraw.


Tags: Ben Bishop Boston Bruins Colorado Avalanche NHL Semyon Varlamov Tampa Bay Lightning Tuukka Rask Vezina Trophy

comments powered by Disqus