The New York Rangers are trying to get up 3-2 in their series with the Philadelphia Flyers and they should be up 2-0 in Game 5 had it not been for a horrible blown call. In the second period, the Rangers appeared to have scored a goal after the puck squirted through the legs of netminder Steve Mason, but the goal was waved off by the referee and it didn’t count.
The puck is clearly never controlled by Mason and the whistle should not have been blown by the line judge. Still, because the whistle was blown, the play was not reviewable even though replay footage shows that the gaol should have counted.
New York got screwed out of a goal there but they ended up getting it back a few minutes later on a Brad Richards goal.