Photo Credit: Joshua S. Kelly-USA TODAY Sports.

PGA Tour: J.B. Holmes wins the Wells Fargo Championship

J.B. Holmes won the 2014 Wells Fargo Championship by one stroke over Jim Furyk to end a six-year winless drought.  Holmes missed most of 2013 with a broken ankle, and made his 2014 debut at the Farmers Insurance Open.  In recent weeks, his game had been trending in a positive direction with a T12 at the Shell Houston Open, T18 at the RBC Heritage, and T11 at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans.  Good to see J.B. back in the winner’s circle!

Jim Furyk had the fireworks going with birdies on five, seven, and nine to go out in 33.  Coming in, Furyk birdied thirteen, fourteen, and eagled 15 to get to seven-under, which is where he would stay after parring the green mile.  The final round 65 moved Furyk to 13-under total, and Holmes would come back to the field down the stretch with bogeys on sixteen and eighteen.  However, Holmes’ one-under 71 was good enough for a one stroke victory at 14-under total.

Martin Flores broke his streak of consecutive rounds in the 60s with an even-par 72, which put him in solo third (12-under).

Jason Bohn had an opportunity late in the round on Sunday, but he doubled the par-3 seventeenth and bogeyed the par-4 eighteenth to slide back into fourth place at 11-under.

Justin Rose doubled eighteen to shoot a one-under 71, and move back into fifth place at 10-under.

Brendon de Jonge completed his ascent up the leaderboard after a first round 80.  His final three rounds of 62-68-69 put him in a tie for sixth with Kevin Kisner at nine-under.

Rory McIlroy overcame a second round 76 with rounds of 65-70 on the weekend to finish T8 at eight-under.

What happened to Phil Mickelson? His day went from bad to worse with a double on sixteen and a bogey on seventeen to finish T11 at seven-under.


Tags: 2014 Wells Fargo Championship Brendon De Jonge J.B. Holmes Jim Furyk Justin Rose Martin Flores PGA Tour Phil Mickelson Rory McIlroy

comments powered by Disqus