Have you ever shared a status update using Facebook to everyone in your contacts, but only intended it to be shared with friends.
There’s a new privacy update that will prevent this from happening in the future.
Moving forward, Facebook will set all new users’ default audience to “Friends,” instead of the previous “Public” option.
The first-time posters will receive a pop-up reminder to choose an audience to share with. However, if you leave it up to chance, it will automatically set your preference to Friends.
For existing users, Facebook will start testing an expanded privacy checkup tool, “which will take people through a few steps to review things like who they’re posting to, which apps they use, and the privacy of key pieces of information on their profile,” Facebook said.
“We want to do all we can to put power and control in people’s hands,” the social network said. “This new tool is designed to help people make sure they are sharing with just the audience they want.” Of course, you can change the individual settings of new or old posts at any time, so even if you’ve overshared, it’s easy to pull back later.”
You can leave a comment below with your thoughts on this , and if there is a feature you would like to see added in the future.
Want to get the latest news wherever you may be? Download the official Fansided App on the AppStore or Google Play Market today to stay up-to-date on the latest news, rumors and analysis from Fansided without even being at a computer. You can also sign up for our newsletter below to get daily updates send straight to your e-mail. And make sure you follow @FanSidedTech on Twitter for the latest tech & gaming news, rumors, and analysis!