Jun 7, 2014; Jacksonville, FL, USA; United States fans hold up an american flag during the national anthem against the Nigeria at EverBank Field. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

World Cup 2014: A look at how the USA qualified (Video)


The 2014 World Cup kicks off on Thursday and all the waiting for the greatest tournament in sports is over. The United States men’s national team doesn’t play their first game, which is against Ghana, till Monday June 16.

The U.S. team qualified for the World Cup by winning the CONCACAF fourth round, and it was an incredible journey filled with many incredible moments. Whether it was Jozy Altidore scoring at will, the game in the snow or the American’s 2-0 win over Mexico.

You can take a quick trip down memory lane in this video below, which will also get you hyped up for Monday’s World Cup opener.

Here is a list of results from World Cup qualifying for the USMNT:

Wed 14/10/09 WQC United States 2 – 2 Costa Rica
Fri 08/06/12 WQC United States 3 – 1 Antigua and Ba…
Tue 12/06/12 WQC Guatemala 1 – 1 United States
Fri 07/09/12 WQC Jamaica 2 – 1 United States
Tue 11/09/12 WQC United States 1 – 0 Jamaica
Fri 12/10/12 WQC Antigua and Ba… 1 – 2 United States
Tue 16/10/12 WQC United States 3 – 1 Guatemala
Wed 06/02/13 WQC Honduras 2 – 1 United States
Fri 22/03/13 WQC United States 1 – 0 Costa Rica
Tue 26/03/13 WQC Mexico 0 – 0 United States
Fri 07/06/13 WQC Jamaica 1 – 2 United States
Tue 11/06/13 WQC United States 2 – 0 Panama
Tue 18/06/13 WQC United States 1 – 0 Honduras
Fri 06/09/13 WQC Costa Rica 3 – 1 United States
Tue 10/09/13 WQC United States 2 – 0 Mexico
Fri 11/10/13 WQC United States 2 – 0 Jamaica
Tue 15/10/13 WQC Panama 2 – 3 United States


Tags: 2014 World Cup USA USA Soccer USMNT