Jun 21, 2014; Manaus, BRAZIL; Detailed view of an official FIFA World Cup soccer ball from Adidas at the Portugal press conference prior to team training at Arena Amazonia. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

World Cup: Who has advanced, who has been eliminated?

Every team in the 2014 World Cup has played their first two games of the group stage, and each team has one game left. That means some teams have punched their ticket to the knockout round and some have been eliminated.

All in all there are six teams who have advanced already: Netherlands, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Argentina and Belgium. There are five teams that have been eliminated already: Cameroon, Spain, Australia, England, and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

So here is who has advanced and been eliminated. (Bold means advanced, strikethrough means eliminated)

Group A:

  • Brazil
  • Mexico
  • Croatia
  • Cameroon

Group B:

  • Netherlands
  • Chile
  • Spain
  • Australia

Group C:

  • Colombia
  • Ivory Coast
  • Greece
  • Japan

Group D:

  • Costa Rica
  • Italy
  • Uruguay
  • England

Group E:

  • France
  • Ecuador
  • Switzerland
  • Honduras

Group F:

  • Argentina
  • Nigeria
  • Iran
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina

Group G:

  • Germany
  • USA
  • Portugal
  • Ghana

Group H

  • Belgium
  • Algeria
  • Russia
  • South Korea

Here is how the rest of the tournament plays out:

Monday, June 23
Netherlands vs. Chile, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Australia vs. Spain, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN2)
Croatia vs. Mexico, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN
Cameroon vs. Brazil, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Tuesday, June 24
Italy vs. Uruguay, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Costa Rica vs. England 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN2)
Japan vs. Colombia, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Greece vs. Ivory Coast, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Wednesday, June 25
Nigeria vs. Argentina, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Bosnia-Herzegovina vs. Iran, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN2)
Ecuador vs. France, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Honduras vs. Switzerland, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Thursday, June 26
United States vs. Germany, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Portugal vs. Ghana, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN2)
South Korea vs. Belgium, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Algeria vs. Russia, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Knockout Stage

Saturday, June 28
Round of 16, 1A vs. 2B, 11:30 a.m. ET (ABC)
Round of 16, 1C vs. 2D, 3:30 p.m. ET (ABC)

Sunday, June 29
Round of 16, 1B vs. 2A, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Round of 16, 1D vs. 2C, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Monday, June 30
Round of 16, 1E vs. 2F, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Round of 16, 1G vs. 2H, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Tuesday, July 1
Round of 16, 1F vs. 2E, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Round of 16, 1H vs. 2G, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Friday, July 4
Quarterfinals, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN2)
Quarterfinals, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Saturday, July 5
Quarterfinals, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN2)
Quarterfinals, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Tuesday, July 8
Semifinals, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Wednesday, July 9
Semifinals, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Saturday, July 12
Third-place match, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Sunday, July 13
Final, 2:30 p.m. ET (ABC)

Tags: Algeria Soccer Argentina Soccer Australia Soccer Belgium Soccer Bosnia-Herzegovina Soccer Brazil Soccer Cameroon Soccer Chile Soccer Colombia Soccer Costa Rica Soccer Croatia Soccer Ecuador Soccer El Tri England Soccer France Soccer Germany Soccer Ghana Soccer Greece Soccer Honduras Soccer Iran Soccer Italy Soccer Ivory Coast Soccer Japan Soccer Mexico Soccer Netherlands Soccer Nigeria Soccer Portugal Soccer Russia Soccer South Korea Soccer Spain Soccer Switzerland Soccer Uruguay Soccer USA Soccer USMNT World Cup

comments powered by Disqus