2014 MLS Power Rankings: Week 16

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse


Jun 18, 2014; Tukwila, WA, USA; The Seattle Sounders FC celebrate after defeating the PSA Elite at Starfire Sports Complex. Seattle defeated PSA Elite 5-0. Mandatory Credit: Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

While the USA Men’s National Team are reeling from a tough draw with Portugal in the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil, some Major League Soccer teams are reeling from crashing out of the U.S. Open Cup in this week’s MLS Power Rankings. The Seattle Sounders remain at the top of this week’s rankings after coasting through their match in the Fourth Round.

Movers, shakers, and a lot of money-makers in this week’s MLS Power Rankings here on the MLS Multiplex. Let’s take a look.

1. Seattle Sounders

Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders rolled over PSA Elite, 5-0, at the Starfire Sports Complex in Tukwila, Wash. Kenny Cooper led the way with a brace in the 45th and 56th minutes. Other goalscorers include Brad Evans (23′), Zach Scott (40′) and Sean Okoli (84′). The Sounders will host the San Jose Earthquakes at Starfire Sports Complex on June 24 in the Fifth Rounds of the U.S. Open Cup. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET. The Sounders will then hit the road on June 28 to take on D.C. United at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. PT/7 p.m. ET and will be televised by MLS LIVE.

Jun 7, 2014; Chester, PA, USA; Vancouver FC midfielder Gershon Koffie (28) passes the ball during the first half of the match against the Philadelphia Union at PPL Park. Mandatory Credit: John Geliebter-USA TODAY Sports

2. Vancouver Whitecaps

Carl Robinson’s Vancouver Whitecaps were off this week and will return to action on June 25 against the Montreal Impact at BC Place Stadium in Vancouver, B.C. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN. On June 28, the Whitecaps will travel to Dick’s Sporting Goods Park to take on the Colorado Rapids. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN.

Jun 17, 2014; Portland, OR, USA;Portland Timbers forward Gaston Fernandez (10) scores on a penalty kick during the first half of the game against Orlando City at Providence Park. Mandatory Credit: Steve Dykes-USA TODAY Sports

3. Portland Timbers

A brace from Gaston Fernandez (11′, 35′) and an insurance goal from Taylor Peay in the 68th minute gave Caleb Porter’s Portland Timbers a 3-0 victory over the Orlando City Under-23s in the U.S. Open Cup Fourth Round at Providence Park in Portland, Ore. Portland will take on Sporting Kansas City on June 24 at Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kan. Kickoff is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. PT/8:30 p.m. ET. Both teams will take on each other again in league play on June 27 at Providence Park. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. PT/11 p.m. ET and will be televised by MLS LIVE.

Jun 11, 2014; San Francisco, CA, USA; San Jose Earthquakes forward Billy Schuler (32) dribbles the ball in the second half against the Sacramento Republic FC at Kezar Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Bob Stanton-USA TODAY Sports

4. San Jose Earthquakes

Mark Watson’s San Jose Earthquakes were off this week and will have a couple of big matches this week. San Jose travel to the Starfire Sports Complex to take on the Seattle Sounders in the U.S. Open Cup on June 24. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET. The Quakes will then return to league action on June 28 against the Los Angeles Galaxy at Stanford Stadium in Palo Alto, Calif. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBCSN.

Jun 11, 2014; Houston, TX, USA; Houston Dynamo midfielder Brian Ownby (22) shoots the ball during the second half against Laredo Heat at BBVA Compass Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Andrew Richardson-USA TODAY Sports

5. Houston Dynamo

Dominic Kinnear’s Houston Dynamo were off this week and have two matches on the docket. Houston host FC Dallas at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Tex. on June 24 in the U.S. Open Cup. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. CT/9 p.m. ET. Up next for the Dynamo in league play is a match with the Montreal Impact at Stade Saputo in Montreal, Que. on June 29. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. CT/7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by MLS LIVE.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: MLS Power Rankings