Google adds languages to Gmail

Google is now adding support for 13 more languages to Gmail, the company announced on Monday.

The addition of the 13 new languages brings the email clients total language support up to 71.

The languages available in Gmail can now be formatted to Afrikaans, Armenian, Azerbaijani (Azeri), Chinese (Hong Kong), French (Canada), Galician, Georgian, Khmer, Lao, Mongolian, Nepali, Sinhala and Zulu.

Overall, Gmail now supports languages spoken by 94 percent of the world’s Internet-using population.

To switch to any of the 71 available languages in Gmail, users from anywhere in the world can simply go to the Settings option. The language option is the first available setting under the “General” tab.

“As any native speaker knows, each language has its own nuances, so we worked closely with linguists to make sure the tone and style are just right,” Google stated in a blog post announcing the language additions. “For example, both Hong Kong and Taiwan use traditional Chinese characters. However, you’ll notice that Gmail’s new Chinese (Hong Kong) language uses 收件箱 for “Inbox” instead of 收件匣, which is a word more common in Taiwan.”

Sound off FanSiders! Have something to say about Google adding 13 new languages to Gmail? Leave your thoughts in the comment section below.

Mike’s Musings: Google is constantly working to make sure it becomes the number one e-mail client in the world. By adding even more language support, it’s getting closer and closer to realizing that goal.

Tags: Gmail Google Technology

comments powered by Disqus