John Mackey Award watch list: Nick O'Leary, OJ Howard headline list

Watch list season continues in college football with the releasing of the watch lists for the Rimington Trophy and the Mackey Award given to the nation’s top centers and tight ends, respectively.

Here is the full list of tight ends below and don’t forget that players can be added to the list as the season plays on and players emerge.

Rory Anderson, South Carolina
Kennard Backman, UAB
Blake Bell, Oklahoma
EJ Bibbs, Iowa State
Pharaoh Brown, Oregon
Kyle Carter, Penn State
Kivon Cartwright, Colorado State
Gerald Christian, Louisville
Braxton Deaver, Duke
Thomas Duarte, UCLA
Luke Eakes, Northern Illinois
Evan Engram, Ole Miss
Billy Freeman, San Jose State
Darion Griswold, Arkansas State
Connor Hamlett, Oregon State
Hunter Henry, Arkansas
Mitchell Henry, WKU
Jeff Heuerman, Ohio State
Wyatt Houston, Utah State
OJ Howard, Alabama
Jesse James, Penn State
Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State
Ben Koyack, Notre Dame
Tyler Kroft, Rutgers
Devin Mahina, BYU
Taylor McNamara, Oklahoma
Jimmy Mundine, Kansas
Johnny Mundt, Oregon
De’Marieya Nelson, Arizona State
Nick O’Leary, Florida State
Casey Pierce, Kent State
Sean Price, USF
Jay Rome, Georgia
Tyreese Russell, Eastern Michigan
Wes Saxton, South Alabama
Randall Telfer, USC
Eric Tomlinson, UTEP
CJ Uzomah, Auburn

Semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 17 with the finalists revealed on Nov. 24 and the winner will be announced at the ESPN college football awards show on December 11.

My predictions for the finalists are O’Leary, Howard and Heuerman with O’Leary.

Austin Seferian-Jenkins of the Washington Huskies won the award last season and was a second round pick of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the 2014 NFL Draft.

Tags: Football John Mackey Award Nick O'Leary

comments powered by Disqus