Home Run Derby 2016: Complete list of rules

The rules for the upcoming Home Run Derby.

With the midseason mark reached in the 2016 MLB season,it calls time for the annual home run derby. The 2016 list of sluggers includes Mark Trumbo (Baltimore Orioles), defending champion Todd Frazier (Chicago White Sox), Adam Duvall (Cincinnati Reds), Robinson Cano (Seattle Mariners), Giancarlo Stanton (Miami Marlins), Wil Myers (San Diego Padres), Carlos Gonzalez (Colorado Rockies) and Corey Seager  (Los Angeles Dodgers).

The 2016 contest is following the same rules of 2015. One in which the eight players are seeded in a NBA playoff style bracket from 1-8 based on the number of home runs the slugger has up until that point of the season as seen below:


Here’s a complete list of the rules:

  1. After the first round, the highest remaining seed will meet the lowest, and the two middle seeds will battle for a spot in the finals.
  2. Those two semifinal winners will meet in the championship round. Each hitter will have four minutes to hit as many balls over the fence as possible, and a player can gain an extra 30 seconds of hitting time by hitting two blasts that go 440 feet or more.
  3. Hitters competing in the first two rounds get one 45-second break in each round, while finalists can call timeout twice in that round.
  4. If a round ends with the two participants tied, they will meet in a 60-second swing-off, with no timeouts available. If it is still tied, each player gets three swings until the tie is broken.

For more MLB All-Star Game coverage, check out our MLB hub page.