LSU legend Joe Burrow adds to his trophy case, winning SEC male athlete of the year

Joe Burrow, LSU Tigers. (Photo by Don Juan Moore/Getty Images)
Joe Burrow, LSU Tigers. (Photo by Don Juan Moore/Getty Images) /

LSU football’s Joe Burrow is your 2019 SEC male athlete of the year.

Joe Burrow award season is over when he decides it is.

Okay, maybe not, but what he does need is a Cincinnati-based contractor to build him a trophy room in his new NFL crib. Burrow is a millionaire as the face of the Cincinnati Bengals franchise. How his NFL career shakes out remains to be seen, but what cannot be denied is he was the best male athlete in the SEC last season for the 2019 LSU Tigers. All he does is win awards.

Burrow was honored alongside South Carolina basketball player Tyasha Harris, who took home SEC female athlete of the year. Here is what SEC commissioner Greg Sankey had to say about this year’s Roy F. Kramer Award recipients.

“The SEC is proud to honor Joe and Tyasha as the recipients of this year’s Roy F. Kramer Athletes of the Year,” said Sankey. “They have competed at the highest level of collegiate athletics and through their hard work, dedication and commitment to excellence have been successful in their endeavors.”

“They are great examples of what it means to be a student-athlete in the Southeastern Conference and are outstanding representatives of their universities as both students and athletes.”

Joe Burrow is going to need to build a trophy room after his latest award.

What Burrow accomplished at the quarterback position last year will go down as the greatest single season we’ve ever seen out of a college football quarterback. He completed well over 70 percent of his passes for just shy of 6,000 yards and hitting 60 touchdown passes, as the Bayou Bengals went 15-0 en route to their first College Football Playoff National Championship.

Burrow took home every award under the sun, including being LSU’s second Heisman Trophy winner in school history. Though he is not a native of Louisiana, he is one of their own now. He may have changed his LSU stripes for Cincinnati ones, but Burrow will always be a legend on Baton Rouge Saturday nights.

Related Story. LSU football schedule 2020: Predicting every game. light

In the last 30 years or so, the only other Heisman campaigns that rivaled what Burrow accomplished at LSU last season were Barry Sanders’ unbelievable 1988 NCAA season for the Oklahoma State Cowboys and Cam Newton’s seemingly out-of-nowhere 2010 NCAA season leading the Auburn Tigers. No other player comes to mind besides these three Heisman winners.

If we want to keep handing out awards to Burrow for the end of time, let’s allow it to happen.

Next. College coaches who would be the life of the tailgate party. dark

For more NCAA football news, analysis, opinion and unique coverage by FanSided, including Heisman Trophy and College Football Playoff rankings, be sure to bookmark these pages.