Is it contractually obligated for Jake Paul to have a rematch with Tommy Fury?
So, has the Jake Paul hype train been derailed?
Fury came out looking for control very early on in the fight, taking the first round with a number of noteworthy punches and utilizing a strategy of circling Paul around the ring, keeping himself moving and out of Paul’s reach.
While Fury briefly got away from this strategy and paid for it in the third, he battled back and made for competitive rounds as the fight went on at a minimum — or clearly taking them at best.
Each man suffered a point deduction from the referee, and Paul scored a knockdown on Fury in the eighth and final round, but it wasn’t enough. While one judge awarded the fight to Paul, the other two gave it to Fury.
Jake Paul does have a rematch clause for Tommy Fury — what does this mean?
Paul was displeased after the fight, feeling he did enough to get the nod and saying he would execute what is known as a rematch clause.
Typically when major fights happen in boxing — namely title fights that do not involve a sanctioning body’s designated mandatory challenger — a rematch clause is put in place. In this case, a champion who has a rematch clause placed into a contract is automatically granted an obligated rematch by the new champion in the event of a loss.
Previous reports had indicated Paul had a rematch clause, but Fury did not. As a result of Fury’s win, and based on Paul’s intentions declared after the loss, Fury will have to give Paul a rematch at some point in the future.