What is goaltender interference in hockey?

Navigating the Bermuda Triangle of Hockey Rules: Decoding Goaltender Interference

facebooktwitterreddit

Have you ever noticed the crowd spilling popcorn in disbelief when a goal is disallowed in a hockey game? Most times, it's due to the infamous goaltender interference rule. It's a puzzler, this rule, but don't worry. In this light-hearted look at what sometimes feels like the Bermuda Triangle of hockey rules, we'll delve into what goaltender interference actually is.

Understanding the Rulebook

According to the NHL rulebook, goaltender interference is when an attacking player initiates contact with the goaltender, in or out of the goaltender's crease, or when the goaltender is impeded from defending the goal due to an offensive player's actions. Sounds clear enough, but it's the interpretation of this rule that often gets our hockey shorts in a twist.

Navigating the Crease

The crease is the goalie's territory and like a grumpy old man's lawn, you don't mess with it. Any contact, intentional or not, that inhibits the goalie's ability to make a play can be called goaltender interference.

The Complexity of Contact

Interference isn't black and white. If the puck is in the crease and an offensive player skates in trying to score, contact is inevitable. Doesn't mean it's interference every time, does it? Well, this is where things get a bit murky. If an offensive player is pushed into the goalie by a defender and a goal is scored, the goal counts as long as the offensive player tried to avoid contact. The referees have to make this call in real time, and it's not always as clear as a high-sticking penalty.

The Game of Exceptions

Let's say the offensive player is chilling in the goalie's crease, not touching the goalie, and a goal is scored. The goal should count, right? Not so fast. If the referee believes the player in the crease distracted the goalie or stopped him from moving freely, it’s goaltender interference. The judgment call element makes this rule less clear than a Zamboni-cleaned ice.

Concluding on Thin Ice

Goaltender interference might seem like a gray area, but remember, it's all about respecting the goalie's ability to make a play. Pushing, shoving, distracting – if it stops a goalie from doing their job, it's probably interference. Next time you see a goal dismissed, instead of getting mad, you'll understand the why behind the rule.

FAQ:

What is goaltender interference in hockey?

Goaltender interference is when an attacking player initiates contact with the goaltender, in or out of the goaltender's crease, or when the goaltender is impeded from defending the goal due to an offensive player's actions.

What is the goalie's crease in hockey?

The crease is the goalie's territory in hockey. Any contact, intentional or not, that inhibits the goalie's ability to make a play can be called goaltender interference.

Is contact always considered as interference in hockey?

No, contact isn't always considered as interference. If the puck is in the crease and an offensive player skates in trying to score, contact is inevitable. However, if an attacker is pushed into the goalie by a defender and a goal is scored, the goal counts as long as the attacker tried to avoid contact.

Can a goal be disallowed even if the offensive player is not touching the goalie?

Yes, even if the offensive player is not touching the goalie, a goal can be disallowed. If the referee believes the player in the crease distracted the goalie or stopped him from moving freely, it’s considered goaltender interference.

What is the main purpose of the goaltender interference rule?

The main purpose of the goaltender interference rule is to respect the goalie's ability to make a play. Any action that stops a goalie from doing their job, such as pushing, shoving, or distracting, can be considered as interference.

NHL Minor Penalties Guide:

manual

manual

NHL Rules Guide:

manual

NHL Guide:

manual

This content has been derived, in whole or in part, from artificial intelligence.