Bellator releases AJ Agazarm, Joe Schilling, many others

Bellator MMA decides to part ways with 28 fighters and three retire.

It’s not just the UFC that makes massive sweeping roster cuts. On the day before Bellator 250, headlined by a mega-fight between Gegard Mousasi and Douglas Lima, it was revealed that Bellator had cut 28 fighters.

Some of the names on the list are well-known figures in Bellator circles.

Joe Schilling who showed power in both hands as a kickboxer and boxer never found that magical touch in MMA going 4-6. AJ Agazarm was a multi-medalist in submission wrestling and jiu-jitsu competitions, in Bellator however he went 3-2, losing his first and last fights. Both now find themselves without an organization.

Roy Nelson was another name on the list. The 44-year-old ended his UFC run alternating wins and losses. Arriving in Bellator he edged out a decision over Javy Ayala. Nelson then preceded to lose his next five. Alongside him getting his pink slip is Frank Mir, who actually beat Roy Nelson to end a four-fight losing streak. Mir already had plans to step into the world of Bare Knuckle Boxing.

Mike Kimbel, was a fan favorite at the Mohegan Sun Arena. The 23-year-old Waterbury, CT native started off his career like a house on fire but seemed to hit a speed bump recently, getting finished in back-to-back fights. Joining him on the cut list is Shawn Bunch as well as featherweight standouts Derek Campos, and Daniel Crawford. Both losers of two in a row.

Young heavyweight Rudy Schaffroth and New Jersey native bantamweight Ricky Bandejas were also sent packing. As was 34-year-old Rafael Carvalho.

David Rickels got his official release although he’s already making moves in the boxing ring. Israeli original gangsta Haim Gozali was let go too, although he hinted about retiring.

Jon Fitch, Pat Curran, and Rafael Lovato Jr. officially made their retirements final.

Rounding out the list is quite a mix of older fighters and younger ones:

Vinicius Zani, Joe Warren, Manny Vazquez, Adil Benjilany, Adel Altamim, Mihail Nica, Jeremiah Labiano, Chris Lencioni, Salim Mukhidinov, Richard Kiely, Ion Pascu, Tuko Tokkoa, Mateusz Piskorz, Kristina Williams, and Hatice Ozyurt.