Kyle Larson Surprising Favorite to Win Second-Straight NASCAR Series Cup

Kyle Larson is the betting favorite to win second-straight NASCAR Series Cup.
Kyle Larson is the betting favorite to win second-straight NASCAR Series Cup. / Sean Gardner/GettyImages

The 2022 NASCAR Cup Series has some of the most parity that we've seen in recent years in the sport.

Only 73 points separates the driver on top of the standings, Chase Elliott, with the driver in 10th place, Christopher Bell.

Also, no driver has more than two wins this season, and only four drivers have two wins. As a result, the odds to win the Cup Series are relatively close, but the current betting favorite is still a bit of a surprise.

Let's dive into the top 10 odds to win the NASCAR Cup Series, courtesy of WynnBET.

Odds to Win the NASCAR Series Cup

  • Kyle Larson +500
  • Chase Elliott +650
  • Denny Hamlin +800
  • Kyle Busch +800
  • William Byron +800
  • Joey Logano +850
  • Ross Chastain +850
  • Ryan Blaney +900
  • Martin Truex Jr. +1200
  • Alex Bowman +1600

Kyle Larson Favored to Win Second-Straight Cup Series

The current betting favorite is Kyle Larson at +500. He's the defending Series Cup Champion, but in my opinion, hasn't done anything this season to warrant being the favorite to win it for the second-straight year.

He had a whopping 10 wins last year on his way to the championship, but this year only has one. He also already has four DNFs (did not finish) this season, which is the biggest concern of all. Only three drivers have more DNFs with Larson, which might show that his reckless driving has cost him this year.

Sure, he still has time to turn things around, but he ranks in seventh place in the standings and there are too many good betting options ahead of him.

Ross Chastain at +850 is an interesting option. He is one of only four drivers with two wins already this year, and he has the most top five finishes with seven.

Whichever way you go, I'd recommend staying away from betting on Larson.

You can track Iain's bets on Betstamp here.