25 semifinalists announced for Pro Football Hall of Fame; Michael Strahan, Jerome Bettis among group

Aug 4, 2013; Canton, OH, USA; General view of the Pro Football Hall of Fame before the 2013 Hall of Fame Game at Fawcett Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

On Wednesday, 25 semifinalists were announced for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

There are some big names on this ballot. Micheal Strahan, Tony Dungy, Jerome Bettis and Derrick Brooks are just a few that made the cut from the list that was originally 126 back in September.

This list of 25 will eventually be knocked down to 15 before a final vote is held on Feb. 1

Here’s the full list of candidates (via CBS Sports):

Morten Andersen, K — 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings

Steve Atwater, S — 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets

Jerome Bettis, RB — 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers

Derrick Brooks, LB — 1995-2008 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Tim Brown, WR/KR — 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Don Coryell, Coach — 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

Roger Craig, RB — 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings

Terrell Davis, RB — 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner — 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers

Tony Dungy, Coach — 1996-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts

Kevin Greene, LB/DE — 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Charles Haley, DE/LB — 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

Marvin Harrison, WR — 1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts

Joe Jacoby, T — 1981-1993 Washington Redskins

Jimmy Johnson, Coach — 1989-1993 Dallas Cowboys, 1996-99 Miami Dolphins

Walter Jones, T — 1997-2008 Seattle Seahawks

John Lynch, FS — 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Karl Mecklenburg, LB — 1983-1994 Denver Broncos

Andre Reed, WR — 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins

Will Shields, G — 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs

Michael Strahan, DE — 1993-2007 New York Giants

Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner — 1989-2006 National Football League

Aeneas Williams, CB/S — 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

Steve Wisniewski, G — 1989-2001 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders

George Young, Contributor — 1968-1974 Baltimore Colts, 1975-78 Miami Dolphins, 1979-1997 New York Giants, 1998-2001 National Football League

Topics: NFL, Pro Football Hall Of Fame

Want more from FanSided?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

3 hours ago

WWE rumors: Batista expected to take time off after Extreme Rules

4 hours ago

Mad Men season 7, episode 2 review: The drama of transcontinental office politics

4 hours ago

Kings at Sharks, Game 2: LA goes up two goals early (GIF)