Jan 9, 2013; Barcelona, SPAIN; Lionel Messi poses with his four Ballon d

FIFA Ballon d'Or 2013 live stream: How to watch online

On Monday, FIFA issues their biggest award, the Ballon d’Or trophy. It is awarded to the best player from the previous calendar year. The award was created in 2010 when France Football’s Ballon d’Or and the men’s FIFA World Player of the Year award were merged.

Since its creation, only Lionel Messi has won. That first year it was created, Messi’s Barcelona teammates Andres Iniesta and Xavi finished second and third in voting respectively. In the following two years, Real Mardid’s Cristiano Ronaldo finished in second, while Xavi and Iniesta have both finished third. Cristiano Ronaldo is the only player not from Barcelona to finish in the top three of voting. This will be the first time since the award was created in 2010 that two Barcelona players won’t finish in the top three. Bayern Munich star Franck Ribery joins Messi and Ronaldo on the short list of nominees.

During the award show they’ll also name the FIFPro World XI, FIFA Women’s World Player of the year and coach of the year for both genders.

Date: January 13
Start Time: 12:20 p.m. ET
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Venue: Kongresshaus
TV Info: FOX Soccer Plus
Live StreamFOX Soccer 2Go

List of nominees:

FIFPro World XI


  • Gianluigi Buffon (Italy, Juventus)
  • Iker Casillas (Spain, Real Madrid CF)
  • Petr Cech (Czech Republic, Chelsea FC)
  • Manuel Neuer (Germany, FC Bayern München)
  • Víctor Valdes (Spain, FC Barcelona)


  • David Alaba (Austria, FC Bayern München)
  • Jordi Alba (Spain, FC Barcelona)
  • Dani Alves (Brazil, FC Barcelona)
  • Leighton Baines (England, Everton FC)
  • Jérôme Boateng (Germany, FC Bayern München)
  • Ashley Cole (England, Chelsea FC)
  • Dante (Brazil, FC Bayern München)
  • Mats Hummels (Germany, Borussia Dortmund)
  • Branislav Ivanović (Serbia, Chelsea FC)
  • Vincent Kompany (Belgium, Manchester City FC)
  • Philipp Lahm (Germany, FC Bayern München)
  • David Luiz (Brazil, Chelsea FC)
  • Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid CF)
  • Pepe (Portugal, Real Madrid CF)
  • Gerard Piqué (Spain, FC Barcelona)
  • Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid CF )
  • Thiago Silva (Brazil, Paris St-Germain FC)
  • Raphaël Varane (France, Real Madrid CF)
  • Nemanja Vidić (Serbia, Manchester United FC)
  • Pablo Zabaleta (Argentina, Manchester City FC)


  • Xabi Alonso (Spain, Real Madrid CF)
  • Gareth Bale (Wales, Tottenham Hotspur FC/Real Madrid CF)
  • Sergio Busquets (Spain, FC Barcelona)
  • Steven Gerrard (England, Liverpool FC)
  • Andrés Iniesta (Spain, FC Barcelona)
  • Isco (Spain, Málaga CF/ Real Madrid CF)
  • Mesut Özil (Germany, Real Madrid CF/Arsenal FC)
  • Andrea Pirlo (Italy, Juventus)
  • Marco Reus (Germany, Borussia Dortmund)
  • Franck Ribéry (France, FC Bayern München)
  • Arjen Robben (Netherlands, FC Bayern München)
  • Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany, FC Bayern München)
  • Yaya Touré (Côte d’Ivoire, Manchester City FC)
  • Arturo Vidal (Chile, Juventus)
  • Xavi  (Spain; FC Barcelona)


  • Sergio Agüero (Argentina, Manchester City FC)
  • Mario Balotelli (Italy, Manchester City FC/AC Milan)
  • Edinson Cavani (Uruguay, SSC Napoli/Paris Saint-Germain FC)
  • Diego Costa (Spain, Club Atlético de Madrid)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid CF)
  • Didier Drogba (Côte d’Ivoire, Shanghai Shenhua FC/Galatasaray SK)
  • Radamel Falcao (Colombia, Club Atlético de Madrid/AS Monaco FC)
  • Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris Saint-Germain FC)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Borussia Dortmund)
  • Mario Mandžukić (Croatia, FC Bayern München)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona)
  • Neymar (Brazil, Santos FC/FC Barcelona)
  • Wayne Rooney (England, Manchester United FC)
  • Luis Suárez (Uruguay, Liverpool FC)
  • Robin van Persie (Netherlands, Manchester United FC)

FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football award

  • Ralf Kellermann (Germany/VfL Wolfsburg)
  • Silvia Neid (Germany/German national team)
  • Pia Sundhage (Sweden/Swedish national team)

FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football award

  • Sir Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester United FC former coach)
  • Jupp Heynckes (Germany/FC Bayern München former coach)
  • Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund)

FIFA Women’s World Player of the year

  • Nadine Angerer (Germany)
  • Marta (Brazil)
  • Abby Wambach (USA)

FIFA Ballon d’Or Nominees

  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
  • Lionel Messi(Argentina)
  • Franck Ribéry (France)

Tags: Ballon D'Or Barcelona Bayern Munich Cristiano Ronaldo FIFA Franck Ribery Lionel Messi Real Madrid

comments powered by Disqus