5 bold Eagles predictions heading into the 2023 NFL Season

Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Jalen Hurts. (Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports)
Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Jalen Hurts. (Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports) /
4 of 5
Jalen Hurts, Philadelphia Eagles
NFC Champion Eagles. (Kevin Sabitus/Getty Images) /

Bold Eagles predictions heading into the 2023 NFL season

2. Eagles repeat as NFC champions

The Eagles will become the third team since 1995 to win two straight NFC Championship Games. Retaining a majority of the roster that went to the Super Bowl last season, continuity will play a huge role in the Eagles’ return to the big game.

The Birds lost some notable players this free agency due to cap constraints: Miles Sanders, T.J. Edwards, Kyzir White, Javon Hargrave, and C.J. Gardner-Johnson all left via free agency. However, they were able to retain the backbones of their franchise by re-signing Jason Kelce, Fletcher Cox, Lane Johnson, and Brandon Graham. All of them have spent over 10 years with the franchise and helped lead the franchise to a Super Bowl under then-coach Doug Pederson

Not to mention, reinforcements on the way: They drafted Jalen Carter, and Nolan Smith, traded for D’Andre Swift, and signed Rashaad Penny and Greedy Williams. They also extended their elite starting cornerback tandem from last year of Darius Slay and James Bradberry.

Being that they were able to retain Kelce and Johnson, their offensive line is also still one of the best (if not the best) in the league. Jalen Hurts’ supporting cast of A.J. Brown, Dallas Goedert, and the continuously-ascending Devonta Smith puts Hurts and the Eagles in a position to succeed every week. Hurts is only going to continue to progress and take another step forward as one of the NFL’s best quarterbacks.

Aside from the 49ers, it doesn’t feel like there is a real threat that should keep the Eagles out of the NFC Championship Game. The Packers lost four-time MVP Award winner Aaron Rodgers to the Jets, the Bucs lost Tom Brady to retirement, and the Vikings lost significant pieces on both sides of the ball (Dalvin Cook, Adam Thielen, Zadarius Smith, Eric Kendricks, Dalvin Tomlinson, Patrick Peterson, and Irv Smith Jr.).

The Eagles will cruise back to another NFC Championship appearance in 2023.