2014 MLS Power Rankings: Week 13

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

May 31, 2014; Seattle, WA, USA; The Seattle Sounders FC celebrate after defeating Real Salt Lake at CenturyLink Field. Seattle defeated Real Salt Lake 4-0. Mandatory Credit: Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

The countdown to the 2014 FIFA World Cup continues, and in this week’s MLS Power Rankings, the Seattle Sounders move up to the top. Meanwhile, Real Salt Lake move down after suffering their first defeat of the year. Let’s take a look at this week’s MLS Power Rankings here on FanSided’s MLS Multiplex.

1. Seattle Sounders

Goals from Gonzalo Pineda (42′), Marco Pappa (55′), Chad Barrett (62′) and Obafemi Marting powered Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders to one of their biggest victories of the season: a 4-0 rout of Real Salt Lake at CenturyLink Field in Seattle, Wash. The Sounders return to action on June 7, when they travel to Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill. to take on LA Galaxy II. Kickoff is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. PT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by MLS LIVE.

Jun 1, 2014; Portland, OR, USA; Vancouver Whitecaps midfielder Russell Teibert (31) challenges the ball with Portland Timbers midfielder Diego Chara (21) at Providence Park. Mandatory Credit: Jaime Valdez-USA TODAY Sports

2. Vancouver Whitecaps

In a wild shootout at Providence Park in Portland, Ore., a Pedro Morales brace in the 16th and 26th minutes paced Carl Robinson’s Vancouver Whitecaps to a 4-3 victory over the Portland Timbers. Other goalscorers included Erik Hurtado (45′ + 4′) and Jordan Harvey (49′). Vancouver are back in action on June 7 against the Philadelphia Union at PPL Park in Chester, Pa. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. PT/7 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN and MLS LIVE.

3. Colorado Rapids

Pablo Mastroeni’s Colorado Rapids were impressive in their 3-0 victory over the Houston Dynamo at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. Deshorn Brown scored a brace in the fifth and 35th minute while Kamani Hill added a third in the 51st minute of play. The Rapids have two matches this week. On June 4, they host the Chicago Fire at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. MT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by MLS LIVE. On June 7, the Rapids hit the road to face FC Dallas at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Tex. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. MT/8 p.m. ET and will be televised by MLS LIVE.

May 31, 2014; Dallas, TX, USA; San Jose Earthquakes forward Steven Lenhart (24) and defender Jordan Stewart (3) react after the victory against FC Dallas at Toyota Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

4. San Jose Earthquakes

Goalst from Atiba Harris (27′) and Jean-Baptiste Pierazzi (45′) paced Mark Watson’s San Jose Earthquakes to a 2-1 win over FC Dallas at Toyota Stadium. The Quakes hit the road on June 7 to face Toronto FC at BMO Field in Toronto, Ont. Kickoff is scheduled for 1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET and will be televised by MLS LIVE and TSN.

May 31, 2014; Washington, DC, USA; D.C. United goalkeeper Bill Hamid (28) celebrates after United

5. D.C. United

A goal from Fabian Espindola in the 28th minute gave Ben Olsen’s D.C. United a 1-0 shutout win over Sporting Kansas City at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. They will return to action on June 7 against the Columbus Crew at home. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by MLS LIVE.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse
comments powered by Disqus