Sep 10, 2013; Foxborough, MA, USA; The jersey of Brazil forward Neymar is seen after their match a against Portugal at Gillette Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

Brazil vs. Croatia: Starting XIs, lineups for World Cup opener

The 2014 FIFA World Cup kicks off on Thursday afternoon with the opener between host nation Brazil and Croatia. In anticipation of today’s match at Arena Corinthians in São Paulo, both sides have released their starting XI’s.

Who is starting for Brazil and Croatia in the World Cup openers?

Here is a look:

lineu

It is interesting to note that Croatia is going with an attacking lineup, so they will not be backing down from Brazil and they’ll be looking to beat the host nation at their own game.

Whether or not the strategy works out remains to be seen, but they will be giving it the old college try.

Below is the full TV schedule for the 2014 World Cup:

Group Play

Thursday, June 12
Brazil vs. Croatia, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Friday, June 13
Mexico vs. Cameroon, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN2)
Spain vs. Netherlands, 2:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Chile vs. Australia, 5:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Saturday, June 14
Colombia vs. Greece, 11:30 a.m. ET (ABC)
Uruguay vs. Costa Rica, 2:30 p.m. ET (ABC)
England vs. Italy, 5:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Ivory Coast vs. Japan, 8:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Sunday, June 15
Switzerland vs. Ecuador, 11:30 a.m. ET (ABC)
France vs. Honduras 2:30 p.m. ET (ABC)
Argentina vs. Bosnia-Herzegovina 5:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Monday, June 16
Germany vs. Portugal, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Iran vs. Nigeria, 2:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Ghana vs. United States 5:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Tuesday, June 17
Belgium vs. Algeria, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Brazil vs. Mexico, 2:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Russia vs. South Korea, 5:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Wednesday, June 18
Australia vs. Netherlands, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Spain vs. Chile, 2:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Cameroon vs. Croatia, 5:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Thursday, June 19
Colombia vs. Ivory Coast, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Uruguay vs. England, 2:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Japan vs. Greece, 5:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Friday, June 20
Italy vs. Costa Rica, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Switzerland vs. France, 2:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Honduras vs. Ecuador, 5:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Saturday, June 21
Argentina vs. Iran, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Germany vs. Ghana, 2:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Nigeria vs. Bosnia-Herzegovina, 5:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Sunday, June 22
Belgium vs. Russia, 11:30 a.m. ET (ABC)
South Korea vs. Algeria, 2:30 p.m. ET (ABC)
United States vs. Portugal, 5:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Monday, June 23
Netherlands vs. Chile, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Australia vs. Spain, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN2)
Croatia vs. Mexico, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN
Cameroon vs. Brazil, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Tuesday, June 24
Italy vs. Uruguay, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Costa Rica vs. England 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN2)
Japan vs. Colombia, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Greece vs. Ivory Coast, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Wednesday, June 25
Nigeria vs. Argentina, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Bosnia-Herzegovina vs. Iran, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN2)
Ecuador vs. France, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Honduras vs. Switzerland, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Thursday, June 26
United States vs. Germany, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Portugal vs. Ghana, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN2)
South Korea vs. Belgium, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Algeria vs. Russia, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Knockout Stage

Saturday, June 28
Round of 16, 1A vs. 2B, 11:30 a.m. ET (ABC)
Round of 16, 1C vs. 2D, 3:30 p.m. ET (ABC)

Sunday, June 29
Round of 16, 1B vs. 2A, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Round of 16, 1D vs. 2C, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Monday, June 30
Round of 16, 1E vs. 2F, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Round of 16, 1G vs. 2H, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Tuesday, July 1
Round of 16, 1F vs. 2E, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Round of 16, 1H vs. 2G, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Friday, July 4
Quarterfinals, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN2)
Quarterfinals, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Saturday, July 5
Quarterfinals, 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN2)
Quarterfinals, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Tuesday, July 8
Semifinals, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Wednesday, July 9
Semifinals, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Saturday, July 12
Third-place match, 3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Sunday, July 13
Final, 2:30 p.m. ET (ABC)

Tags: 2014 World Cup Brazil Soccer Croatia Soccer World Cup World Cup 2014

comments powered by Disqus