Mandatory Credit: Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

List of 15 Finalists Named for 2013 NFL Hall of Fame Class

The list of 27 semifinalists for the NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2013 has been whittled down to just 15 names, as the race to Canton enters it’s final stage. Within the group of 15 finalists are 4 first ballot names, as well as the 10 finalists who missed last year’s final cut.

Among those who missed the cut this year, are kicker Morten Andersen, safety John Lynch, cornerback Albert Lewis, safety Steve Atwater, coach Don Coryell, running backs Roger Craig and Terrell Davis, tackle Joe Jacoby, linebacker Karl Mecklenburg, former commissioner Paul Tagliabue, special teamer Steve Tasker and executive George Young.

Running back Jerome Bettis, wide receivers Tim Brown, Cris Carter and Andre Reed, guard Will Shields, defensive end Charles Haley, linebacker Kevin Greene, cornerback Aeneas Williams former Giants and Patriots coach Bill Parcells and famed 49ers owner Ed DeBartolo, Jr. all missed the final cut last year but are still in the running to make the Hall of Fame this year.

But for you youngins’ out there, like myself, four names will likely ring instant bells in your head, as they are first time nominees who have made the final cut. Those players are former Ravens offensive lineman Jonathan Ogden, former Cowboys guard Larry Allen, former Giants defensive end Michael Strahan and former Buccaneers defensive tackle Warren Sapp.

The fifteenth name on the list of finalists is former Browns and Ravens owner Art Modell.

While all these guys are a step closer to football immortality this year, only five will reach that height and the other ten will be lumped in with the rest and have to wait for next season. The list of 5 inductees will be announced in the days leading up to the Super Bowl and will be enshrined in August.

Tags: NFL NFL Hall Of Fame

comments powered by Disqus