Tuck Rule: Do We Even Understand What The Rule Is Anymore?

In the third quarter of the divisional round playoff game between the Baltimore Ravens and Denver Broncos, the referees made a pivotal call that could come back to haunt the Broncos.

Peyton Manning was moving his arm forward when he lost control of the ball. The Ravens recovered and it was ruled a fumble on the field.

When you look at the replay, it appeared clear that the ball was coming loose as Manning’s hand was going forward. That should fall under the Tuck Rule and be ruled an incompletion. Or is it possible that because Manning got the ball back to his body before fully losing control that he reestablished possession and it was a fumble?

The play was reviewed, as all turnovers are, and it was ruled a fumble.

This raises the question, do we even understand the tuck rule anymore? The rule has become as hard to understand as what classifies as a catch in today’s NFL. When the play was live, it looked like a fumble. When it was shown on replay, it looked like the Tuck Rule. At least the refs went with how the play appeared in real time.

Either way, the NFL needs to clear up what can prove to be such a pivotal call.

Here is a GIF of the play:

You decide. Was that the Tuck Rule or should it have been ruled a fumble? As always, sound off in the comments section and let your voice be heard.

Tags: Baltimore Ravens Denver Broncos NFL Tuck Rule

comments powered by Disqus