NBA D-League Slam Dunk Contest 2013 Participants

The most highly anticipated event of Saturday’s slate of activities occurs not at 9pm, but occurs at halftime of the D-League All-Star Game. That’s right, the NBA D-League Slam Dunk contest is Saturday and while we’ve waited all year long to see who will take home the crown of the best minor league dunker, we have to actually figure out just who the hell is actually in the event.

This is literally the press release that advertised the best least-watched basketball event of the year:

Four gravity-defying top NBA D-League prospects will compete in the Boost Mobile NBA D-League Slam Dunk Contest, including Tony Mitchell (Fort Wayne Mad Ants), Josh Owens (Idaho Stampede), Dar Tucker (Reno Bighorns) and Glen Rice, Jr. (Rio Grande Valley Vipers). Mitchell and Tucker both recently competed in the 2013 NBA D-League Showcase Slam Dunk competition, while Owens and Rice, Jr. are new to the field.

In case you got bored reading the press release to the D-League Slam Dunk contest — and nobody blames you for doing so– here’s a rundown of who will be “defying gravity” in the lowest ranks of professional basketball.

2013 NBDL Slam Dunk Contest Participants (with NBA affiliates):

Tony Mitchell – Fort Wayne Mad Ants (Bobcats, Pistons, Pacers Bucks)

Josh Owens – Idaho Stampede (Trailblazers)

Dar Tucker – Reno Bighorns (Grizzlies, Kings, Jazz)

Glen Rice Jr. – Rio Grand Valley Vipers (Houston Rockets)

The NBDL Slam Dunk Contest will be judged by Phoenix Suns guard Shannon Brown, Dallas Mavericks center Bernard James, NBA greats Michael Ray Richardson, Darryl Dawkins and the winner of the Boost Mobile NBA D-League sweepstakes.

So ladies and gentlemen, now is the last chance to clear your calendar for this earth shattering event.

Tags: Bernard James NBA NBA D-League NBDL NBDL Slam Dunk Contest Shannon Brown