NBA Slam Dunk Contest 2013: Past Winners

We all love the NBA Slam Dunk contest, but it’s been a while since we’ve had real big names involved in the event and this year is no different. But while we all know memorable moments from dunk contest gone by, don’t beat yourself up if you don’t know the winner like you know your Sports Illustrated cover women. For instances, kudos to anyone who knows that Gerald Green won the dunk contest in 2007 and extra credit to the girl in the back who said Nate Robinson has won three Slam Dunk titles including back-to-back titles in 2009 and 2010.

Did you know that in the history of the Slam Dunk contest only 15 teams have produced winners with three players winning back-to-back titles? Only Michael Jordan, Jason Richardson and Nate Robinson have won back-to-back titles and yes that’s the only time in their careers they will ever be mentioned that close to Michael Jordan.

Both the New York Knicks and Atlanta Hawks are tied with one another when it comes to producing the most Slam Dunk winners. Both the Knicks and Hawks have had four players win titles with Nate Robinson holding onto the record for most individual Slam Dunk titles won.

Remember Isaiah Rider, Fred Jones or Desmond Mason? Doesn’t matter because despite how awful their NBA careers ended up being, all three have Slam Dunk trophies on their mantle. Heck, even Harold Miner won twice and thanks to LeBron James continually chickening out, remains the only Miami Heat player to ever win a slam dunk title.

The history of the NBA Slam Dunk contest isn’t like listing off some legendary baseball stat, but there’s a lot of memories behind each winner, even if they themselves have faded into NBA obscurity. So don’t blame yourself for not knowing that Dee Brown won the 1991 Slam Dunk, but just so you can always feel smarter than your fellow fan, here’s a complete list of former NBA Slam Dunk champions:

NBA Slam Dunk Champions: 1984-2012

  • 1984 (Denver) – Larry Nance, Phoenix Suns
  • 1985 (Indianapolis) – Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta Hawks
  • 1986 (Dallas) – Spud Webb, Atlanta Hawks
  • 1987 (Seattle) – Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
  • 1988 (Chicago) – Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
  • 1989 (Houston) – Kenny Walker, New York Knicks
  • 1990 (Miami) – Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta Hawks
  • 1991 (Charlotte) – Dee Brown, Boston Celtics
  • 1992 (Orlando) – Cedric Ceballos, Phoenix Suns
  • 1993 (Salt Lake City) – Harold Miner, Miami Heat
  • 1994 (Minneapolis) – Isaiah Rider, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • 1995 (Phoenix) – Harold Miner, Miami Heat
  • 1996 (San Antonio) – Brent Barry, Los Angeles Clippers
  • 1997 (Cleveland) – Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 1998 (New York City) – No Slam Dunk Competition
  • 1999 (Philadelphia) – Lockout – Shortened Season, No NBA All Star Game
  • 2000 (Oakland) – Vince Carter, Toronto Raptors
  • 2001 (Washington, D.C.) – Desmond Mason, Seattle SuperSonics
  • 2002 (Philadelphia) – Jason Richardson, Golden State Warriors
  • 2003 (Atlanta) – Jason Richardson, Golden State Warriors
  • 2004 (Los Angeles) – Fred Jones, Indiana Pacers
  • 2005 (Denver) – Josh Smith, Atlanta Hawks
  • 2006 (Houston) – Nate Robinson, New York Knicks
  • 2007 (Las Vegas) – Gerald Green, Boston Celtics
  • 2008 (New Orleans) – Dwight Howard, Orlando Magic
  • 2009 (Phoenix) – Nate Robinson, New York Knicks
  • 2010 (Dallas) – Nate Robinson, New York Knicks
  • 2011 (Los Angeles) – Blake Griffin, Los Angeles Clippers
  • 2012 (Orlando) – Jeremy Evans, Utah Jazz

The newest member of this club will be chosen Saturday night on TNT. Stay tuned to Fansided all night long to find out who will be crowned the 2013 NBA Slam Dunk Champion.

Tags: Michael Jordan Nate Robinson NBA NBA Slam Dunk Contest Slam Dunk Contest

comments powered by Disqus