Players Who Received 2013 NFL Franchise Tag

Dec 23, 2012; Green Bay, WI, USA; The NFL Logo on the goal posts during the game between the Tennessee Titans and Green Bay Packers at Lambeau Field. The Packers won 55-7. Mandatory Credit: Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY SportsThe mo

The 2013 NFL Franchise Tag deadline has come and passed without much attention. Only eight teams decided to use the tag this offseason after a whopping 21 chose to use the tag in 2012. Who were the players that were hit with the big money long-term deal for next season.

Here is a list of players that currently have been designated as their team’s franchise player:




 Henry Melton, DT


Michael Johnson, DE 


Jairus Byrd, S


 Ryan Clady,OT


 Branden Albert, OT


 Pat McAfee, P


 Anthony Spencer, OLB


 Randy Starks, DT

 It wasn’t nearly as active as the years past and a lot of the tags could be used as a transition period to buy the team more time to renegotiations. The most likely two players to receive long-term contract are Anthony Spencer and Randy Starks.

Topics: Buffalo Bills, Chicago Bears, Cincinnati Bengals, Dallas Cowboys, Denver Broncos, Indianapolis Colts, Miami Dolphins, NFL Franchise Tag

Want more from FanSided?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

15 minutes ago

Streak For The Cash Picks-April 16, 2014

16 minutes ago

Welcome to the slow death of the college football rivalry game

16 minutes ago

NBA Playoff standings 2014: Final night scenarios