Jul. 16, 2010; South Bend, IN, USA; General view of the 2011 enshrinement ceremony at the College Football Hall of Fame. Mandatory Credit: Matt Cashore-USA TODAY Sports

College Football Hall of Fame Announces 2013 Ballot

The National Football Foundation has released its list of 82 candidates for the 2013 College Football Hall of Fame, which features a number of worthy candidates headlined by former Wisconsin running back and FBS all-time leading rusher Ron Dayne.

Also on the list are names like Alabama linebacker Derrick Thomas and TCU running back LaDainian Tomlinson

In order to be eligible for the College Football Hall of Fame, “players must have been named a First Team All-America by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least ten years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football.”

Here are the players that are candidates for the class of 2013 (full list including bios can be found here):


  • Trev Alberts, Nebraska-Linebacker
  • Erick Anderson, Michigan-Linebacker
  • Bob Berry, Oregon-Quarterback
  • Eric Bieniemy, Colorado-Running Back
  • Tony Boselli, Southern California-Offensive Tackle
  • Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma-Linebacker
  • Jerome Brown, Miami (Fla.)-Defensive Tackle
  • Ted Brown, North Carolina State-Tailback
  • Bob Breunig, Arizona State-Linebacker
  • Tedy Bruschi, Arizona-Defensive End
  • Brandon Burlsworth, Arkansas-Offensive Guard
  • Larry Burton, Purdue-Split End
  • Dave Butz, Purdue-Defensive Tackle
  • Mark Carrier, Southern California-Safety
  • Marco Coleman, Georgia Tech-Linebacker
  • Tom Cousineau, Ohio State-Linebacker
  • Bob Crable, Notre Dame-Linebacker
  • Eric Crouch, Nebraska-Quarterback
  • Randall Cunningham, Nevada-Las Vegas-Punter
  • Ron Dayne, Wisconsin-Running Back
  • Eric Dickerson, SMU-Running Back
  • John Didion, Oregon State-Center
  • D.J. Dozier, Penn State-Running Back
  • Jumbo Elliott, Michigan-Offensive Tackle
  • Tony Franklin, Texas A&M-Plackekicker
  • Tommie Frazier, Nebraska-Quarterback
  • William Fuller, North Carolina-Defensive Tackle
  • Kirk Gibson, Michigan State-Wide Receiver
  • Charlie Gogolak, Princeton-Placekicker
  • Jerry Gray, Texas-Defensive Back
  • Al Harris, Arizona State-Defensive End
  • Leotis Harris, Arkansas-Offensive Guard
  • Randy Hughes, Oklahoma-Defensive Back
  • Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame-Wide Receiver
  • Dick Jauron, Yale-Running Back
  • Ernie Jennings, Air Force-Wide Receiver
  • Greg Lewis, Washington-Running Back
  • Jess Lewis, Oregon State-Defensive Tackle
  • Robert Lytle, Michigan-Running Back
  • Bobby Majors, Tennessee-Defensive Back
  • Buddy McClinton, Auburn-Defensive Back
  • Duncan McColl, Stanford-Defensive End
  • Cade McNown, UCLA-Quarterback
  • Paul Naumoff, Tennessee-Linebacker
  • Darrin Nelson, Stanford-All-Purpose
  • Ken Norton, Jr., UCLA-Linebacker
  • Tom Nowatzke, Indiana-Fullback
  • Philip Olsen, Utah State-Defensive End
  • Jim Otis, Ohio State-Fullback
  • Orlando Pace, Ohio State-Offensive Tackle
  • Paul Palmer, Temple-Running Back
  • Anthony Poindexter, Virginia-Defensive Back
  • Antwaan Randle El, Indiana-Quarterback
  • Ron Rivera, California-Linebacker
  • Willie Roaf, Louisiana Tech-Offensive Lineman
  • Mike Ruth, Boston College-Nose Guard
  • Lucius Sanford, Georgia Tech-Linebacker
  • Sterling Sharpe, South Carolina-Wide Receiver
  • Rod Shoate, Oklahoma-Linebacker
  • Percy Snow, Michigan State-Linebacker
  • Bob Stein, Minnesota-Defensive End
  • Art Still, Kentucky-Defensive End
  • Matt Stinchcomb, Georgia-Offensive Tackle
  • Aaron Taylor, Notre Dame-Offensive Tackle
  • Vinny Testaverde, Miami (Fla.)-Quarterback
  • Derrick Thomas, Alabama-Linebacker
  • Zach Thomas, Texas Tech-Linebacker
  • Andre Tippett, Iowa-Defensive End
  • LaDainian Tomlinson, TCU-Tailback
  • Don Trull, Baylor-Quarterback
  • Jackie Walker, Tennessee-Linebacker
  • Wesley Walls, Mississippi-Tight End
  • Lorenzo White, Michigan State-Running Back
  • Clarence Williams, Washington State-Running Back
  • Steve Wisniewski, Penn State-Offensive Guard
  • Scott Woerner, Georgia-Defensive Back
  • Danny Wuerffel, Florida-Quarterback


  • Jim Carlen-West Virginia (1966-69), Texas Tech (1970-74), South Carolina (1975-1981)
  • Wayne Hardin-Navy (1959-64), Temple (1970-82)
  • Bill McCartney-Colorado (1982-94)
  • Billy Jack Murphy-Memphis (1958-71)
  • Darryl Rogers-Cal State-Hayward (1965), Fresno State (1966-72), San Jose State (1973-75), Michigan State (1976-79), Arizona State (1980-84)

Tags: Football

comments powered by Disqus