June 25, 2011; Pasadena, CA, USA; Mexico celebrates after winning the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup Final against the United States at the Rose Bowl. Mexico won 4-2. Mandatory Credit: Kelvin Kuo-USA TODAY Sports

CONCACAF Gold Cup 2013 Rosters: Mexico Announces Preliminary Roster

Mexico will be looking to defend their Gold Cup title later this summer when the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup kicks off. On Friday, the rosters were announced, so we get a look at the El Tri squad that is looking to keep Mexican soccer at the top of CONCACAF. El Tri has a solid mix of veterans and young players, but they lack the real star players like Chicharito that will be focusing on helping the team during World Cup qualifiers.

Countries will have until June 27 to select their final squad, which requires the coaches to pick a 23-man roster from the following 35-man preliminary list. If changes are needed to be made following the announcement of the 23-man roster, coaches can select the replacements from the provisional list.

You can check out the rosters for all of the countries participating in the 2013 Gold Cup here.

Here is the provisional roster for El Tri:

GOALKEEPERS (4): Moisés Muñoz (América), Jonathan Orozco (Monterrey), Cirilo Saucedo (Tijuana), Alfredo Talavera (Toluco)

DEFENDERS (12): Adrián Aldrete (América), Hugo Ayala (Tigres), Dárvin Chávez (Monterrey), George Corral (Jaguares), Joel Huiqui (Morelia), Israel Jiménez (Tigres), Miguel Layún (América), Leobardo López (Monterrey), Jonny Magallón (León), Jair Pereira (Cruz Azul), Juan Carlos Valenzuela (América), Efraín Velarde (UNAM)

MIDFIELDERS (12): Fernando Arce (Tijuana), David Cabrera Pujol (UNAM), José María Cárdenas (Morelia), Alejandro Castro (Cruz Azul), Javier Cortés (UNAM), Jorge Enríquez (Guadalajara), Juan Carlos Medina (América), Luis Montes Jiménez (León), Carlos Alberto Peña (León), Miguel Ángel Ponce (Guadalajara), Richard Ruiz (Tijuana), Rodolfo Salinas (Santos)

FORWARDS (7): Isaác Brizuela (Atlas), Ulises Dávila (Sabadell), Marco Fabián (Guadalajara), Rafael Márquez Lugo (Guadalajara), Javier Orozco (Cruz Azul), Oribe Peralta (Santos), Omar Bravo (Atlas)

Tags: CONCACAF El Tri Gold Cup Mexico Soccer

comments powered by Disqus