Jul 15, 2013; Flushing , NY, USA; American League player Yoenis Cespedes of the Oakland Athletics during the Home Run Derby in advance of the 2013 All Star Game at Citi Field. Mandatory Credit: Anthony Gruppuso-USA TODAY Sports

Home Run Derby 2013: Yoenis Cespedes Defeats Bryce Harper in Final Round

The American League wins the Home Run Derby for the fourth straight time as Yoenis Cespedes dominates Bryce Harper in the championship round.

Harper was first, getting eight home runs, but didn’t stand a chance against Cespedes who hit nine home runs and had just five outs. Earlier tonight, Cespedes hit the third-most home runs in a round since the inception of this format of the Home Run Derby, nailing 17 of them in the first round. He hit six more in the second round for a total of 23 home runs in the two rounds, which was the highest heading into the final round.

Other players that made it to the second round was Harper, who had eight home runs in all three rounds, Michael Cuddyer who had a total of 15 home runs, and Chris Davis with 12.

Players that didn’t advance from the first round were Pedro Alvarez with six, Prince Fielder with five, David Wright with five, and Robinson Cano with four.

Fielder came back to this edition of the Home Run Derby as a defending champion, winning his second title last season. Cano won the event the year previous, and David Ortiz won it in 2010. The last National League player to win it was Fielder when he was with the Milwaukee Brewers.

Tags: Bryce Harper Home Run Derby Oakland Athletics Yoenis Cespedes

comments powered by Disqus