Jul 5, 2013; San Diego, CA, USA; United States forward Landon Donova (10) is congratulated by coach Jurgen Klinsmann in a friendly against Guatemala at Qualcomm Stadium.The United States defeated Guatemala 6-0. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

USMNT roster for Costa Rica/Mexico World Cup Qualifiers released: Dempsey, Donovan in squad

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

US national team manager Jurgen Klinsmann on Thursday unveiled his 23-man roster for the next two CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers in September against Costa Rica (Sept. 6) and Mexico (Sept. 10).

Headlining the list are MLS stars Landon Donovan and Clint Dempsey, who both recently signed long-term contracts with their MLS clubs. The last time the duo were on the same USMNT roster was back on June 12, 2012 in a 1-1 tie vs. Guatemala, with the stakes high against Mexico their inclusion into the squad will be a massive boost.

Dempsey’s Sounders teammate Eddie Johnson and Sporting Kansas City’s Graham Zusi, who assumed Donovan’s spot in the lineup during his national team hiatus were also called in by Klinsmann

Rounding out the group of nine MLS players on the 23 man roster are Real Salt Lake duo Nick Rimando and Kyle Beckerman as well as starting defenders Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Matt Besler (Sporting KC) and Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders).

EPL keepers Brad Guzan and Tim Howard will once again by Klinsmann’s top choice between the posts, with Rimando being the third keeper on the roster.

After earning his first USMNT cap in a friendly against Bosnia, impressive young Bundesliga CB John Brooks of Hertha Berlin will make his World Cup Qualifying debut should he feature in Klinsmann’s Starting XI against either Costa Rica or Mexico.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (8): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City) John Brooks(Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Edgar Castillo (Club Tijuana), Brad Evans(Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Michael Orozco (Puebla)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Roma), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Jermaine Jones(Schalke), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (5): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders FC)

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: 2014 World Cup Qualifying Clint Dempsey CONCACAF Jurgen Klinsmann Landon Donovan USMNT

comments powered by Disqus