Calvin Johnson ruled out of bounds correctly

Sep 8, 2013; Detroit, MI, USA; Detroit Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson (81) dives into the end zone for a touchdown in the first quarter against the Minnesota Vikings at Ford Field. The play was ruled no touchdown after being reviewed. Mandatory Credit: Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

Let’s face it, today hasn’t been the referees finest performance. Everyone is already talking about the play between the 49ers and the Packers that led to an incorrect call by the officials to replay the down leading to a San Fransisco touchdown.

Anyone watching the Detroit Lions take on the Minnesota Vikings this afternoon was undoubtedly left scratching their heads when an apparent touchdown throw from Matthew Stafford to Calvin Johnson was overturned after a review.

Apparently this call was correct and even has an unofficial name, the “Calvin Johnson Rule” named after our man Calvin. This name came into effect after a game 3 years ago that saw Johnson very obviously make a catch but not finish the act of the catch according to NFL standards in the endzone. That play was the difference in the Lions week one loss way back when.

Well, according to Mike Florio of Pro Football Talk, the refs got this one right also. He outlines it in his article, but basically he has to get both feet down and then make the football move and he only got one foot down before lunging across the goal line. I admit that the fact that he was able to make that play was impressive in his own right.

Fortunately for Lions fans, this time the rule did not end up costing them the win as they beat the Vikings by 10 points.

Topics: Calvin Johnson, Detroit Lions, Minnesota Vikings

Want more from FanSided?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.
  • Herman Moore

    The call was correct, but Florio still gets it wrong, or at least not completely right. The play was not a TD because Calvin lost control of the ball–which is clearly visible on the replay–when he hit the ground in the end zone, not because he only got one foot down before entering the end zone. If he gets the other foot down, then he’s a runner, diving into the end zone is a football move, and the TD is scored as soon as the ball breaks the plane, and the ground doesn’t matter, because the play is already over. If he only gets one foot down, dives into the end zone, and keeps control of the ball when he hits the ground, it’s a TD.

3 hours ago

Bernard Hopkins vs. Beibut Shumenov full fight video highlights

4 hours ago

UFC coming to Atlantic City and Tulsa this summer

4 hours ago

UFC on FOX 11 results: Travis Browne suffered broken hand, possible broken rib