It’s been said that no matter how many baseball games you’ve attended, no matter how many innings you’ve watched, you’ll always see something new.
Hard to disagree with that philosophy, especially after last night’s game between the Baltimore Orioles and the New York Yankees.
In the top half of the second inning, New York Yankees catcher Chris Stewart stepped to the plate and he promptly took ball one outside. The second pitch Stewart fouled off, making the count 1-1. On the third pitcher, Stewart swung and missed and he promptly began walking back to the dugout.
Everything looked normal. The umpire didn’t care Stewart was walking away. None of the Baltimore Orioles cared. Nobody from the Yankees said anything.
Stewart, thinking he had just struck out, was not happy – only problem? He didn’t strike out. The count was 1-2, but, Stewart took his seat in the dugout anyway much to the shock of well, just about everybody including the announcing team who apparently wasn’t aware Stewart had only seen two strikes in his previous at-bat.