Funny thing, nobody has been talking about Tiger Woods this week at the BMW Championship. That all changed after he incurred a two shot penalty on the first hole at Conway Farms. It was obvious that Tiger thought he took a double bogey, but after watching the video with Slugger White, the PGA’s vice president of rules and competition, signed for an eight on the par four hole. Had he signed his score card before further investigation, he would have picked up two more strokes for signing an incorrect score card. You can watch the video, and read the full report at PGATour.com.
The world’s number one player began his second round on the back nine, and began with two bogeys at the outset. He got it back to even par before making the turn, and picking up the penalty. After thinking he had double bogeyed the first hole, went on to thinking he had shot a one under par 70. The two-stroke penalty netted him a one over par 72 and at four under for his two-day total, will begin “Moving Day”, seven strokes behind the leaders.
Tiger looked lost when he finished T 65 at the Deutsche Bank on Labor Day, but came back strong on Thursday with a well-balanced 66. He had only two bogeys on his card, and ended up at five under par. He will have to kick it up a notch on Saturday, or he could fall another spot in the rankings.
At his current position, he is treading water, but if he looses any more ground, could end up third or fourth before the points are reset. As long as he stays in the top five, he will control his own fate when they get to East Lake.
Tiger Woods has more lives than a cat, so I wouldn’t give up on the two-time FedEx CUp Champion just yet. All year, every time you think he has lost connection with his game, he comes back and wins a tournament. Go figure. He’s still one of the best golfer on the planet, and is always “in it to win it“. That’s what we love about him.