Oct 17, 2013; Brooklyn, NY, USA; Miami Heat small forward LeBron James (6) drives around Brooklyn Nets shooting guard Joe Johnson (7) during the first quarter at Barclays Center. Mandatory Credit: Anthony Gruppuso-USA TODAY Sports

2013-2014 NBA MVP odds: LeBron James leads the way

The popular gambling website, Bovada.lv, has released their initial odds for several different NBA statistics and awards, including the game’s most prestigious award, Most Valuable Player.

In what should come as no surprise, Miami Heat forward LeBron James is a huge favorite to win the award. James has already been named the league’s MVP four times (2008-2009, 2009-2010, 2011-2012 & 2012-13). Last season, James averaged 26.8 points, 8.0 rebounds, 7.3 assists and 1.7 steals per game, leading the Heat to their second straight NBA title. James has 3/2 odds to win his fifth NBA award.

Oklahoma City Thunder forward Kevin Durant has the next best odds at 4/1. Durant averaged 28.1 points, 7.9 rebounds and 4.6 assists per game, but Thunder didn’t have the team success they did during the 2011-2012 season when they reached the NBA finals. Once point guard Russell Westbrook, who is 33/1 to win the award, went down, the Thunder weren’t the same team.

The 2010-2011 MVP, Derrick Rose, has the third best odds to win. Rose missed the 2012-13 season due to a torn ACL he injured in the 2012 postseason. Rose has 11/2 odds.

Rounding out the top five is New York Knicks forward Carmelo Anthony and Los Angeles Clippers point guard Chris Paul, both with 10/1 odds.

Despite tearing his Achilles last season, the 2007-08 MVP, Los Angeles Lakers guard Kobe Bryant, has 25/1 odds to win.

Full list of 2013-14 NBA MVP odds

LeBron James (MIA)                  3/2

Kevin Durant (OKC)                   4/1

Derrick Rose (CHI)                     11/2

Carmelo Anthony (NY)               10/1

Chris Paul (LAC)                        10/1

Dwight Howard (HOU)                14/1

James Harden (HOU)                 20/1

Kobe Bryant (LAL)                     25/1

Tony Parker (SAN)                     25/1

Russell Westbrook (OKC)          33/1

Kryie Irving (CLE)                      33/1

Stephen Curry (GSW)                33/1

Paul George (IND)                     33/1

Blake Griffin (LAC)                    33/1

Deron Williams (BRK)                40/1

Tim Duncan (SA)                       50/1

Kevin Love (MIN)                       50/1

Dirk Nowitzki (DAL)                   50/1

Dwyane Wade (MIA)                  50/1

Anthony Davis (NOH)                50/1

John Wall (WAS)                       75/1

Rajon Rondo (BOS)                   75/1

Pau Gasol (LAL)                        125/1

LaMarcus Aldridge (POR)          125/1

Roy Hibbert (IND)                      125/1

Ty Lawson (DEN)                      150/1

Andre Iguodala (GSW)               150/1

Brandon Jennings (DET)            150/1

Kemba Walker (CHA)                 150/1

Monta Ellis (DAL)                      150/1

David Lee (GSW)                      150/1

Josh Smith (DET)                      150/1

Tags: Chris Paul Derrick Rose Kevin Durant Kobe Bryant Lebron James NBA MVP

  • Bunbro

    Bull shit