October 4, 2013; Oakland, CA, USA; Detail view of baseballs with the postseason logo before game one of the American League divisional series playoff baseball game between the Oakland Athletics and the Detroit Tigers at O.co Coliseum. The Tigers defeated Athletics 3-2. Mandatory Credit: Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

2013 AL Golden Glove winners - Infield

On the American League side, the 2013 Golden Glove awards were mostly dominated by the Kansas City Royals and Baltimore Orioles, but there were a few more teams represented in the infield. The Gold Glove award is given to a member of each position, one per conference, based on their fielding performance throughout the season.

Catcher – Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals (11 defensive runs saved)

First Base – Eric Hosmer, Kansas City Royals (3 defensive runs saved)

Second Base – Dustin Pedroia, Boston Red Sox (15 defensive runs saved)

Shortstop – J.J Hardy, Baltimore Orioles (8 defensive runs saved)

Third Base – Manny Machado, Baltimore Orioles (35 defensive runs saved)

Pitcher – R.A. Dickey, Toronto Blue Jays (7 defensive runs saved)

Overall, the Royals and Orioles won a total of 3 Golden Gloves each, with two of them coming from the infield.

Here are a few interesting pieces about these recipients, courtesy of ESPN.

Perez became the first Royals catcher to win a Gold Glove Award since Bob Boone in 1989.

Hosmer became the first Royals first baseman to win a Gold Glove.

Machado became the first Orioles third baseman to win a Gold Glove Award since Brooks Robinson in 1975.

This year marked the first time that Rawlings included SDI, or SABR Defensive Index into the voting process. SDI was developed by the Society for American Baseball Research, and took into account several defensive statistics.


Tags: Baltimore Orioles Boston Red Sox Golden Glove Kansas City Royals MLB Toronto Blue Jays

comments powered by Disqus