August 10, 2012; New Orleans, LA, USA; Arizona Rattlers celebrate holding up the AFL championship trophy following a win over the Philadelphia Soul in ArenaBowl XXV at the New Orleans Arena. The Arizona Rattlers defeated the Philadelphia Soul 72-54. Mandatory Credit: Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sports

Portland’s Arena Football League team to be called the Thunder

Of the hundreds of potential names submitted by fans, Portland’s new Arena Football League Team will be known as the Portland Thunder.

The name is likely a reference to Oregon’s state rock, the thunderegg, and not the state’s notoriously inclement weather. Or, perhaps, the name is meant to make Seattleites weep over their departed Seattle SuperSonics. (Personally, I’d prefer the latter.)

Thunder owner Terry W. Emmert released the following statement about the decision:

We appreciate all of the support we’ve received from our fan base and new season ticket holders. We wanted to choose a powerful name that will define our team and the attitude of our franchise. We feel our fans can be proud of the name Portland Thunder (Oregon Live).

The Thunder’s first game at Moda Center will be against the San Jose SaberCats on Mar. 17 of 2014. If the team is giving away promotional thundereggs to the first 100 fans or something, you can bet I’ll be there.

[Source: Oregon Live]

Tags: AFL Arena Football Portland Thunder