Oct 17, 2013; Detroit, MI, USA; Detroit Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera (24) grounds into a run scoring double play against the Boston Red Sox during the seventh inning in game five of the American League Championship Series baseball game at Comerica Park. Mandatory Credit: Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Tigers Miguel Cabrera named AL MVP in back to back seasons

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

The Major League Baseball awards continue to roll out and the American League MVP was named today; for the second year in a row, the Detroit Tigers’ Miguel Cabrera won the award.  Cabrera won the league’s MVP last year and won the Triple Crown for the first time since Carl Yastrzemski of the Boston Red Sox in 1968.

While he led the league in batting average hitting .348, he finished second to the Baltimore Orioles Chris Davis in home runs and runs batted in this year.  Davis edged out Cabrera by one RBI, but had 9 more home runs.  Nevertheless, Cabrera’s last two years have been among the most dominant in baseball’s history as well as having him named among the most prolific hitters ever to play.

Sabermetricians and old school baseball writers have argued over the merits of different stats in recent history, but there is no arguing how dominant a player Cabrera has been overall the past two years.  The argument has been who has been the more valuable player between Cabrera and the Angels Mike Trout.  The last back to back MVP winner was Frank Thomas of the Chicago White Sox when he accomplished it in 1993 and 1994.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: Detroit Tigers Miguel Cabrera MVP

comments powered by Disqus