Breaking News FSU suspends Jameis Winston for entire Clemson game ×

Sep 7, 2013; Chapel Hill, NC, USA; North Carolina Tar Heels tight end Eric Ebron (85) during their game against the Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders at Kenan Memorial Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Liz Condo-USA TODAY Sports

2013 John Mackey Award finalists announced

The John Mackey Award, the award that recognizes the nation’s best tight end in college football, has come out with their list of finalists for this year.  This award is named in the honor of John Mackey, the legendary tight end that played in college at Syracuse and went on to be one of the greatest tight ends in NFL history as a member of the Baltimore Colts.  Only recently has it been suggested that Mackey was not the best ever to play the position in light of the career of Tony Gonzalez.

The list that was narrowed down to three candidates has come up with three names: Eric Ebron (North Carolina), Austin Seferian-Jenkins (Washington) and Nick O’Leary (Florida State).

Eric Ebron – 50 catches, 774 yards and 8 touchdowns

Austin Seferian-Jenkins – 31 catches, 361 yards and 6 touchdowns.

Nick O’Leary – 27 catches, 457 yards and 7 touchdowns

Congratulations to the finalists for the award this year.  It is important to note that this award is not simply based on statistics and takes into account the entire scope of the position of tight end.


Tags: Austin Seferian-Jenkins Eric Ebron Florida State Seminoles Football John Mackey Award Nick O'Leary North Carolina Tar Heels Football Washington Huskies Football

comments powered by Disqus