Oct 15, 2013; Panama City, Panama; United States player Sacha Kljestan carries the ball during the second half of their 3-2 win over Panama at Estadio Rommel Fernandez. Mandatory Credit: Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

2014 FIFA World Cup Draw live stream: How to watch online

The World Cup is getting closer, and the World Cup picture will get a lot clearer on Friday. Right now we have a list of 32 teams qualified for the World Cup divided into four pots. On Friday, we’ll find out what group each team will be in. Groups will be made up of a team from each pot, the goal being to prevent multiple teams from the same region playing one another.

In the United States, coverage of the event will on ESPN2 and WatchESPN on Friday, Dec. 6, beginning at 11:30 a.m. ET. Bob Ley will host, joined by analysts Michael Ballack, Alexi Lalas, Steve McManaman and Santiago Solari. Taylor Twellman will be checking in from Kansas City where the 2013 MLS Cup will be held on Saturday. If you watch SportsCenter you will get live look-ins during the draw.

Here is everything you need to know.

Date: Friday, December 6, 2013
Start Time: 11:00am ET; 4:00pm GMT
Location: Mata de Sao Joao, Bahia, Brazil
Venue: Costa do Sauipe Resort
TV Info: ESPN 2 11:30am ET
Live StreamOfficial FIFA appSkyGo appESPN 3Watch ESPN or Watch ESPN App

Like the pot allocation, it will also likely be on FIFA.com and their YouTube Channel.


1.In order to create an even flow to the draw as Pots 1-4 are emptied, we begin by drawing one ball from Pot 4 (containing a European team) and placing it into Pot 2 to achieve an equal balance of eight teams in each pot

2.Pot 1 will then be emptied beginning with Brazil; teams will be allocated to position 1 of Groups A through H sequentially

3.With the addition of the European team to Pot 2, Pot 2 will contain teams from three different qualification zones. With teams from three zones in the same pot, we increase the risk of inadvertently violating the principle of geographic separation. In order to ensure we do not mistakenly end up with three European teams in the same Group, the following mechanism will be implemented:

- The four seeded South American teams will be placed in an ancillary pot – Pot X
- One of the four teams will be drawn
The Group of the South American which is drawn will determine the Group which the European team from Pot 2 will join Final Draw Procedures

4.Pot 2 will then be emptied, beginning with the European ball:

- The European team will join Group of South American team drawn from Pot X
- The remaining teams will be allocated to Groups A through H sequentially

(Note: Groups may be skipped to respect principle of geographic separation; e.g. Chile and Ecuador may not be drawn into Groups with seeded South American teams)

5.Pots 3 and 4 will then be emptied in order

6.The positions within Groups A through H will be drawn for all teams of Pots 2, 3 and 4.

Here are the pots for the allocation process above:

Pot One: Argentina, Brazil, Belgium, Colombia, Germany, Spain, Switzerland, Uruguay

There are the seven highest ranked teams in the FIFA World Rankings and Brazil, who get a seed as the host nation.

Pot Two: Ivory Coast, Ghana, Algeria, Nigeria, Cameroon, Chile, Ecuador

These are the African (CAF) nations plus the two South American (CONMEBOL) teams that weren’t seeded in the first pot.

Pot Three: US, Japan, Iran, South Korea, Australia, Mexico, Costa Rica and Honduras

These are the Asian (AFC) nations and the Central/North American (CONCACAF) nations.

Pot Four: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, England, France, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Russia

These are the nine-unseeded European teams, one of who will move into Pot Two.

Venues for each group:

Group A: Sao Paulo (Arena de Sao Paulo); Natal (Estadio das Dunas); Fortaleza (Estadio Castelao); Manaus (Arena Amazonia); Brasilia (Estadio Nacional); Recife (Arena Pernambuco)

Group B: Salvador (Arena Fonte Nova); Cuiaba (Arena Pantanal); Rio De Janeiro (Estadio do Maracana); Porto Alegre (Estadio Beira-Rio); Curitiba (Arena da Baixada); Sao Paulo (Arena de Sao Paulo)

Group C: Belo Horizonte (Estadio Mineirao); Recife (Arena Pernambuco); Brasilia (Estadio Nacional); Natal (Estadio das Dunas); Cuiaba (Arena Pantanal); Fortaleza (Estadio Castelao)

Group D: Fortaleza (Estadio Castelao); Manaus (Arena Amazonia); Sao Paulo (Arena de Sao Paulo); Recife (Arena Pernambuco); Natal (Estadio das Dunas); Belo Horizonte (Estadio Mineirao)

Group E: Brasilia (Estadio Nacional); Porto Alegre (Estadio Beira-Rio); Salvador (Arena Fonte Nova); Curitiba (Arena da Baixada); Manaus (Arena Amazonia); Rio De Janeiro (Estadio do Maracana)

Group F: Rio De Janeiro (Estadio do Maracana); Curitiba (Arena da Baixada); Belo Horizonte (Estadio Mineirao); Cuiaba (Arena Pantanal); Porto Alegre (Estadio Beira-Rio); Salvador (Arena Fonte Nova)

Group G: Salvador (Arena Fonte Nova); Natal (Estadio das Dunas); Fortaleza (Estadio Castelao); Manaus (Arena Amazonia); Recife (Arena Pernambuco); Brasilia (Estadio Nacional)

Group H: Belo Horizonte (Estadio Mineirao); Cuiaba (Arena Pantanal); Rio De Janeiro (Estadio do Maracana); Porto Alegre (Estadio Beira-Rio); Sao Paulo (Arena de Sao Paulo); Curitiba (Arena da Baixada)

Tags: 2014 World Cup World Cup

comments powered by Disqus