Oct 12, 2013; Seattle, WA, USA; Oregon Ducks running back Byron Marshall (9) carries the ball with offensive linesman Hroniss Grasu (55) blocking during the 2nd half against the Washington Huskies at Husky Stadium. Oregon defeated Washington 45-24. Mandatory Credit: Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

Finalists announced for 2013 Rimington Trophy

The finalists for the Rimington Trophy were announced on Monday. The award, named after former Nebraska Cornhusker Dave Rimington, is given annually to the top center in college football. The finalists for 2013 are [drum roll please]…

  • Reese Dismukes (Auburn Tigers)
  • Hroniss Grasu (Oregon Ducks)
  • Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma Sooners)
  • Tyler Larsen (Utah State Aggies)
  • Bryan Stork (Florida State Seminoles)
  • Travis Swanson (Arkansas Razorbacks)

Previous winners of the award include Virginia Tech’s Jake Grove (2003), Penn State’s A.Q. Shipley (2008), Florida’s Maurkice Pouncey (2009), and Alabama’s Barret Jones (2012).

The Rimington website has a breakdown of how the winner is determined:

The winner of the Rimington Trophy is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from three existing All-America teams.


While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee used these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:


*Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
*Sporting News (SN)
*Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)


Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a “mix” of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11- man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee’s policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the four All- America teams.

Got it? Good. The winner for 2013 will be announced in a ceremony on Saturday, January 11. I’m sure there will be tons of W.B. Yeats and “the centre cannot hold” references.

[Source: Rimington Trophy]

Dick's Sporting Goods presents "Hell Week":

Tags: Bryan Stork Hroniss Grasu Reese Dismukes Rimington Trophy Travis Swanson