Feb 26, 2013; Surprise, AZ, USA; Texas Rangers assistant Greg Maddux (left) and pitching coach Mike Maddux during the sixth inning against the Chicago White Sox at Surprise Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Jake Roth-USA TODAY Sports

MLB Hall of Fame Class of 2014: Maddux, Glavine, Thomas enter on first Ballot

The official results of the Baseball Writers Association of America election for the National Baseball Hall of Fame have been announced. To be elected into the Hall of Fame, players must obtain at least 75% of the total vote. Joining managers Tony LaRussa, Bobby Cox, and Joe Torre (elected by the Expansion Era Committee on December 9th) are the following players:

  1. Greg Maddux 97.2%
  2. Tom Glavine 91.9%
  3. Frank Thomas 83.7%

As a rule, players that do not garner at least 5% of the overall vote or players that have been on the ballot for fifteen years without election will no longer be eligible for election on future ballots. Those players are:

  1. Jack Morris 61.5%
  2. Rafael Palmeiro 4.4%
  3. Moises Alou 1.1%
  4. Hideo Nomo 1.1%
  5. Luis Gonzalez 0.9%
  6. Eric Gagne 0.4%
  7. J.T. Snow 0.4%

This is the first time since 1955 that four players have been elected to the Hall of Fame and only the second time overall. The players elected to the Hall will officially be inducted in a ceremony at Cooperstown on July 27th.

Craig Biggio received 74.8% of the vote, the closest of anyone. Barry Bonds, Lee Smith, Mark McGwire and Roger Clemens fell in the standings. Mike Piazza, along with Biggio, received increased support.

Here is a full breakdown of the vote:


Tags: Baseball Hall Of Fame Hall Of Fame MLB