Jan 27, 2013, Honolulu, HI, USA; General view of the opening kickoff of the 2013 Pro Bowl at Aloha Stadium. The NFC defeated the AFC 62-35. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Pro Bowl 2014: Jamaal Charles, JJ Watt on Team Deion

The 2014 Pro Bowl draft kicks off tonight, with Pro Football Hall of Famers Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders selecting the first 11 players for their team. The draft will continue on Wednesday during a three-hour draft special on the NFL Network.

Ahead of the draft, a coin toss was held to determine the first pick. The winner of the coin toss could either take the first pick or select one of the two sets of team captains that were determined by fan voting.

The top offensive and defensive players from the AFC and NFC were named captains and paired up prior to today. Kansas City Chiefs running back Jamaal Charles was the top vote-getter on offense for the AFC, while Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt was the highest vote-getter on defense.

Both of these players have been added to Team Deion.

That means New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees and St. Louis Rams defensive end Robert Quinn will be on Team Jerry Rice.

Deion shared a photo of his team captains Tuesday afternoon on Twitter:

We still do not know who won the coin toss and who will have the first pick in the draft, but those questions will be answered soon.

Are you looking forward to the Pro Bowl with its new format? Sound off in the comments section below with your thoughts.

Tags: Houston Texans Jamaal Charles JJ Watt Kansas City Chiefs Pro Bowl

comments powered by Disqus