Aug 2, 2013; Canton, OH, USA; General view of the busts of enshrinees at the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame class announced

A number of leaks and rumors were beginning to surface surrounding the 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame class, but now we have an official report that has confirmed a total of seven players have been inducted into the Hall of Fame and will have their busts enshrined in Canton.

Seattle Seahawks tackle Walter Jones and Tampa Bay Buccaneers linebacker Derrick Brooks were among the first-ballot players to earn the honor. The 2014 class was completed with the additions of New York Giants defensive end Michael Strahan, Arizona Cardinals and St. Louis Rams cornerback Aeneas Williams and Buffalo Bills wide receiver Andre Reed.

Two seniors committee candidates, Oakland Raiders punter Ray Guy and Atlanta Falcons and Philadelphia Eagles defensive end Claude Humphrey, were also inducted.

When the list of candidates was cut down to ten, linebacker Kevin Greene, defensive end Charles Haley, running back Jerome Bettis, guard Will Shields and wide receiver Marvin Harrison were the final players to be cut.

While the final players to be cut could be favorites to land in the 2015 Hall of Fame class, they will face some stiff competition from the new first-year eligible players which will include linebacker Junior Seau, quarterback Kurt Warner, wide receivers Torry Holt and Isaac Bruce, offensive tackle Orlando Pace and running back Edgerrin James.

Dick's Sporting Goods presents "Hell Week":

Tags: Andre Reed Arizona Cardinals Atlanta Falcons Buffalo Bills Derrick Brooks Michael Strahan New York Giants NFL Philadelphia Eagles Pro Football Hall Of Fame Seattle Seahawks St. Louis Rams Tampa Bay Buccaneers Walter Jones

  • Barry

    Hurray Andre Reed!!! — Andre is absolutely Hall of Fame!!!

    When Andre’s career ended in 2000, he ranked 3rd in NFL history in catches and 6th in receiving yards.

    Think of all those great teams from the 60′s, 70′s, 80′s, and 90′s:
    –70′s Steelers, 49ers of the 80′s, 60′s Packers, 70′s Raiders, 80′s Giants, Dolphins, Cowboys, Redskins
    –the great Hall of Fame players from the 60′s, 70′s, 80′s, and 90′s are NFL legends.

    And yet, Andre Reed was third in NFL history in catches and sixth in receiving yards among all players from that 60′s-to-90′s era. He made the catches in a cold weather city with strong winter winds.

    And, he didn’t simply make a lot of catches, rather, he made catches that were a key factor in getting the Bills to four straight Super Bowl appearances.
    For example, the Greatest Comeback in NFL History: Bills vs Oilers January 1993 Playoffs–Andre’s 3 touchdowns, 8 catches for 136 yards were a big part of the Bills overcoming a 35-3 deficit.

    Andre’s 21 postseason games: 85 catches for 1,229 yards and 9 touchdowns.

    The Buffalo Bills had the most wins among all AFC teams throughout the entire 1990′s–Andre Reed was a key part of that.