NFL Hall of Fame selection committee met for nearly nine hours

While we will still need to wait a few hours to learn who will be the 2014 class inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, we do know that the Hall of Fame selection committee has wrapped up their meeting today that lasted a record time.

According to Peter King of, the selection committee met for a whopping eight hours and 59 minutes.

A total of seventeen men — 15 finalists and 2 senior committee nominees — are eligible to be inducted.

The candidates include  Morten Andersen, Jerome Bettis, Derrick Brooks, Tim Brown, Eddie DeBartolo, Tony Dungy, Kevin Greene, Charles Haley, Marvin Harrison, Walter Jones, John Lynch, Andre Reed, Will Shields, Michael Strahan, Aeneas Williams, Ray Guy and Claude Humphrey.

We will find out later tonight who will forever be enshrined in Canton, but let’s make sure we understand that the process took nearly nine hours so that is a good excuse for having a few head-scratchers at the end.

Tags: NFL Pro Football Hall Of Fame