May 8, 2014; Cleveland, OH, USA; Cleveland Indians shortstop Asdrubal Cabrera (13) celebrates his solo home run in the second inning against the Minnesota Twins at Progressive Field. Mandatory Credit: David Richard-USA TODAY Sports

Indians Asdrubal Cabrera misses cycle on scorer's call

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Asdrubal Cabrera has been struggling at the plate recently, especially with runners in scoring position, but a Thursday afternoon game against the Minnesota Twins set the shortstop’s bat on fire.

It started with a second inning home run to put the Indians up 2-0. He struck out in his next plate appearance, but then he ripped a single back through the box in the bottom of the 5th. His third hit came on the second part of back-to-back doubles along with David Murphy to drive in another run. Then, the controversial call came.

In the bottom of the 8th, against Twins’ reliever Matt Guerrier making his 2014 debut, with David Murphy on first, Cabrera laced a shot  towards the right field corner. It was overran by the right fielder and Murphy raced around third towards the plate. Cabrera never stopped running as the throw went home, too late to get Murphy. By the time Kurt Suzuki threw down to third, Cabrera had already slid in safely. What would the call be?

Official scorer Sheldon Ocker, who, according to MLB.com’s Jordan Bastian was making his first official appearance in the scorer’s seat, ruled that Cabrera would be credited with a RBI double, going to third on the throw home. Once the score flashed across the screen at Progressive Field, the crowd immediately burst into a chorus of boos. After that half inning was over, however, the Cleveland faithful gave Cabrera a standing ovation.

The Indians went on to defeat the Twins, 9-4.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: Cleveland Indians

comments powered by Disqus