Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Twitter reacts to error ruling in Yu Darvish no-hitter pursuit


As he is prone to do from time to time, Texas Rangers starting pitcher Yu Darvish found himself in pursuit of a perfect game on Friday night against the Boston Red Sox. Untouched going into the seventh inning, Darvish looked to have lost his perfect game and no-hitter when David Ortiz sent a bloop base hit into right field.

But then he didn’t, because the play was ruled an error on right fielder Alex Rios. The ruling was immediately worthy of reaction because it is the type of play that is always ruled a hit without so much as a second thought.

Predictably, those who were following the game on Twitter reacted to the questionable ruling from the official scorer.

What do you think? Was it an error or a hit? Take to the comments and let us know your thoughts.


Tags: Texas Rangers Yu Darvish