Photo Credit: John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports.

Drama at Sawgrass, Martin Kaymer sinks critical putt on 17 to win The Players Championship

Martin Kaymer cruised through the first thirteen holes on Sunday at The Players Championship, but then came an hour-and-a-half weather delay after he hit the difficult par-4 fourteenth in two. Play resumed at 7:12 pm ET, and a two-putt par gave him a three-stroke lead with four holes to play.

As Kaymer parred fourteen, Jim Furyk cleaned up a three-foot par putt on eighteen to get into the clubhouse at 12-under.  Furyk shot a six-under 66 to jump into contention, and he waited in the locker room as Kaymer struggled down the stretch.

The trouble started with a hooked drive on fifteen, which led to a double-bogey to fall back to thirteen-under.  Kaymer secured a par on sixteen, and then everyone’s heart stopped on seventeen as Kaymer’s approach nearly spun off the green into the water.  From the collar ringing the island green, Kaymer left his chip 25-feet short.

Jordan Spieth still had an outside chance on seventeen, but his birdie putt slid by, and he would finish tied for fourth with Justin Rose at 10-under.

After Spieth missed his birdie putt on seventeen, Kaymer stepped up to his par-putt and read the six-feet of break perfectly by pouring it into the heart!

Kaymer hit the fairway on eighteen, but missed the green short. He nearly holed his putt from off the green, and cleaned up his three-footer for par to become the 2014 Players Champion.

Sergio Garcia finished in third place at 11-under.  Bogeys on eleven and fourteen put the damper on a back nine charge up the leaderboard.

Jordan Spieth took the lead after a birdie on four, but he made five bogies until his next birdie on sixteen.  It was another great tournament for the 20-year-old, and his second win on the PGA Tour is imminent.

Jimmy Walker, Rory McIlroy, David Hearn, Lee Westwood, and Francesco Molinari finished T6 at nine-under.  Walker shot a seven-under 65 and McIlroy fired a six-under 66 in the final round.


Tags: Francesco Molinari Jim Furyk Jimmy Walker Jordan Spieth Justin Rose Lee Westwood Martin Kaymer Rory McIlroy The Players Championship TPC Sawgrass

comments powered by Disqus